An American in Iran

in #travel6 years ago

1529173630991.jpg
Earlier this month I spent 9 days in Iran. It was very difficult and expensive to get the visa as a US citizen but I'm so glad I went because my small interactions with Iranians--in parks, on the streets, watching world cup games and everywhere else--helped smash the narrative that they could ever be my enemy. The people I met there were kind, intelligent and generous. They were all my friends. Their govt on the other hand was not. I was assigned a minder who was with me at ALL times and communicated with the govt informing them what I was doing on a regular basis. I had little freedom and I hated it. I felt like a prisoner. At one point I was given a written reminder that I was prohibited from talking to any Iranians and that I was risking trouble if I continued to defy that order. The govt is just as restrictive with its own citizens, though both I and many of the people I met found quiet ways to defy those restrictions. A lesson that Iranians seemed to understand better than people from any other place I've been yet is that a person's government does not always represent them; that whatever you think about a national government the citizens that live there are individuals and if you give them a chance, probably friends. It's a lesson we should all learn.

Sort:  

visiting new place is always a great experience but sorry you visit wrong place : )

there are no wrong places :)

Congratulations @johndennehy! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @johndennehy! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I would like to know more about this trip and your interaction with the people. I had no idea someone follows you there if you are a foreigner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66