You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Cross-Country Road Trip > SF > Vegas > Boulder > Houston > New Orleans > Washington D.C.

in #travel8 years ago

As I'm relatively new to Steemit, I haven't done much besides lurking here. Your post finally inspired me to make more than a generic comment - mostly because your trip reminded me of a few cross country journeys I've made. Each one was memorable for different reasons, but you will always remember your first, which is what you captured.

Like you I did a west to east journey with a college buddy, and we stopped off in Vegas. For some reason a fake ID wasn't an issue; we were more concerned about winning a jackpot and attracting too much unwanted attention - another time, I suppose.

Although my own endless miles of Texas didn't come until future cross countries, Rob & I experienced the mind numbing flatness of the flyover states between Colorado and Illinois in crystal clarity.

One of my last times (so far) across involved DC and New Orleans - so, in spite of not knowing why you went to Houston, I can say that you chose the better detour - if only for the southern stops alone!

Sort:  

That's awesome! It sounds like we've done very similar trips. I hope to maybe read a future post from you expanding on your trips (and the Vegas story perhaps!).
I chose Houston because the majority of my dad's side of the family lives there, and had to make a stop to say hello, though Houston itself leaves much to be desired ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15