Just Like a StarsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

LOGO At the fuel pump-1.jpg

Hello my Steeming Pals!

English

India

“Hey man, I’ve been following you for the past few blocks” said the young biker on his small Honda as he pulled up next to me in the dark.
I was on my bike as well on the outskirts of Amritsar in India, just across the border from Pakistan. It was late.
“Really?!” I replied with the sting of apprehension.
“Yeah, I recognise you. I know who you are” insisted the lad.
“Oh yeah?” I replied as I stiffened up, trying to anticipate what was coming next.
”Come on man, I’m your fan! I saw you on the Discovery Channel……..Selfie!”

I found out on my route across Asia, that as a solo traveller I was in many ways as much of a curiosity to the people I encountered on my path as they were to me, often even more so. Also, riding an “exotic” motorcycle with weathered riding gear added to my alien quirkiness and boosted the curiosity of many of my hosts. There were countless occasions, when parked by the side of the road, my bike and I were greeted with smiles and generous offers of hospitality from locals as though we were celebrities of some kind. In fact the feeling for me was just that. It was the closest I had ever been to feeling like a star.

Indonesia-1.jpg

I was unprepared for the attention. It was flattering to start off with and I engaged keenly with my new friends. People seemed authentically welcoming, kind and concerned. I was a guest in their country and a flag carrier for the part of the world I came from. However, dealing with "the fans" inevitably turned into a repetitive routine where the same questions were asked of me time and time again, several times a day. In the end it was hard to bare and I found it easier to avoid any attention as much as possible in the same way real celebrities do.

Checnya

It all began as in Chechnya, the rebellious Russian republic just north of the Caucasus. Since the end of the clashes for independence (fifteen years ago or so) , this area has seen few tourists and even fewer foreign registered motorbikes.

As I idled at a traffic light in Grozny (the capital) admiring the gleaming new town centre I noticed some commotion reflected in my rear view mirrors. A bunch of lads hurried to my side from the cars behind me.

“Mister, where are you from?” they asked smiling.
I explained that I had travelled from the UK.
“From UK to Grozny with moto?”
I nodded, and acknowledged the looks surprise on their faces.
“....welcome to Chechnya and thank you for visiting!…..Selfie!” and before I knew it half a dozen smartphones were at work.

Iran

In Iran things really took off. I was regularly honked at on the roads by truck drivers, given the thumbs up sign constantly, filmed and photographed several times from moving cars.

I stopped at beach side eatery one afternoon, on the Caspian coast. As I pulled up I caught the attention of some youths lounging near by. While I sat at a table and sipped at my hot drink the youngsters gathered around me and politely started with their questions one by one. What was the reason for my trip? What I had seen so far? What did I think of Iran? Some questions were particularly telling:

“Is it true that everyone in Europe believes we are all terrorists in Iran?”
“What is it like to travel in a foreign country?”
“How many countries have you seen?”
“Do you have problems with the police?”
"Selfie?"

Kids-1.jpg

Pakistan

In Pakistan it continued. An overnight stop in the village of Dalbandin on my way to Quetta, attracted a few locals to the guest house I was staying at. I was a foreigner and an opportunity for these people to practice some English conversation. So, converse we did.

Further East, through Punjab and beyond to valleys of Gilgit and Baltistan in the Himalayas, every road side stop close to a village caused a small crowd of polite inquisitive folk .

“Sir, where you from?”
“Sir, you married?”
“You have children Sir?”
“Selfie!”

I was an eccentric novelty and the bike was a rarity in that part of the world. I never felt under any threat, far from it!

Counter Measures

I tried camouflage. In Islamabad I bought a Salwar (trousers) and a Kameez (shirt), the traditional dress for a man in Pakistan.

Confident that I could now mingle and not stand out too much from the crowd I put on my new outfit and walked into a small restaurant in which I had never been before. The cashier spotted me immediately:

“Ohhh, Pakistani style today. Very good. Nice colour. ….You American Sir?” he asked, as he picked up his smartphone....

Clearly, Discovery Channel or not, there was nowhere I could hide.

(….never been on the Disco Channel!)

Kameez-1.jpg

Italiano

India

“Ehi amico, e’ già da qualche isolato che t’inseguo” mi disse il ragazzo appena fermatosi al mio fianco al buio, in sella ad una Honda 125.
Ero in moto pure io, nei sobborghi di Amritsar in India, appena al di là del confine con il Pakistan. Era tardi.
“Davvero?!” Gli risposi con una punta di inquietudine.
“Si, ti ho riconosciuto, sai. So chi sei” insistette il giovane biker.
“Ah si?” gli replicai irrigidendomi e cercando di intuire cosa volesse da me.
“Ma certo, sono un tuo fan! Ti ho visto sul Discovery Channel……..Selfie!”

Una delle cose che scoprii viaggiando in solitaria attraverso l’Asia, fu che la curiosità dei locali nei miei confronti era la medesima che riserbavo io per loro, se non addirittura di più. Inoltre la mia moto, esotica per quei luoghi, insieme al mio abbigliamento sgualcito da motociclista, mi conferirono, credo, un aspetto marcatamente alieno, forse un pochino folle, che insieme accentuarono l'interesse dei miei ospitanti.

In diverse occasioni, fermo sul ciglio della strada fui avvicinato da passanti con sorrisi, braccia aperte e generose offerte di ristoro ed ospitalità, come se fossi stato un una sorta di celebrità. Ora che ci penso fu proprio questa la sensazione: il feeling di essere considerato una star.

All’inizio, confuso, mi sentii lusingato dalle attenzioni e concessi ampio spazio a chiacchiere e domande. Era ok, tutti erano sempre gentili, rispettosi e cortesi. Del resto, pensai, ero ospite in terra straniera ed anche portabandiera del mondo da cui provenivo. Tuttavia, più chilometri macinai e più le attenzioni di notorieta' si trasformarono in una routine ripetitiva, nella quale perplesso mi sentii ripetere i medesimi interogativi svariate volte al giorno. Imparai alla fine ad evitare la trappola dei “fan”, allo stesso modo in cui vi sfuggono i divi dello sport e della TV.

Checnya

Tutto cominciò mentre percorrevo le strade della Repubblica Cecena, nel Caucaso settentrionale. Dai tempi del noto conflitto per l’indipendenza (una quindicina di anni fa), pochi sono i turisti che transitano in questa regione ed ancora meno i motociclisti con targa estera.

Fermo ad un semaforo di Grozny (la capitale) e distratto dai nuovi palazzi della città, notai del movimento alle mei spalle riflesso negli specchietti retrovisori. All'improvviso un gruppo di ragazzotti mi si avvicinò accanto.

“Mister, da dove vieni?”
Spiegai che ero partito dal Regno Unito.
“Dal Regno Unito fino a Grozny in moto?”
Annuì con un sorriso osservando la sorpresa in volto ai miei interlocutori.
“…..ben arrivato in Cecenia e grazie per essere venuto fino a qui!... Selfie! ”

In men che non si dica venni immortalato da mezza dozzina di smartphone, li fermo al semaforo.

Iran-1.jpg

Iran

In Iran le cose presero quota. Gli autisti dei camion mi suonarono i loro clacson ad ogni sorpasso mostrandomi un pollice alzato. Innumerevoli volte venni filmato e fotografato dai finestrini di vetture con mani in gesta di saluto.

Una pomeriggio mi fermai per prendere un thé in un bar vicino ad una spiaggia sul Caspio. Venni notato da un gruppetto di giovani mentre ordinavo la mia bibita e presto si affollarono attorno al mio tavolo mentre sorseggiavo la mia bevanda. Con cortesia e rispetto fecero a turno con le proprie domande. Chi ero? Quale era il motivo del mio viaggio? Cosa ne pensavo dell’Iran?

Alcune domande le trovai particolarmente significative:

“E’ vero che in Europa pensano che siamo tutti terroristi qui in Iran?”
“Quali sensazioni si provano a viaggiare in un paese straniero?”
“Quanti paesi hai visitato?”
“La polizia non ti da mai noia?”
“Selfie?”

Pakistan

In Pakistan le cose proseguirono. Mi fermai una pomeriggio nel paese di Dalbandin sulla strada per Quetta. Si sparse la voce della mia presenza e verso sera un gruppetto di ragazzi si era congregato all’ingresso della pensione.

Ero, per loro una chance per fare English conversation, mi dissero. Non potei rifiutare e conversammo fino a notte tardi.
Più ad est attraverso il Punjab ed oltre ancora nel Baltistan, attorno a Gilgit nelle Himalaya, ogni mia sosta in un paese attirava in pochi attimi un gruppetto di curiosi.

“Da dove vieni, Sir?”
“Sir, sei sposato?”
“Hai figli, Sir?”
“Selfie!”

Ero un viaggiatore eccentrico di passaggio su di un moto poco conosciuta. Mai mi sentii minacciato od in pericolo!

Barbasur Pass-2.jpg

Contro Misure

Ad Islamabad tentai di mimetizzarmi. Comprai Salwar (pantaloni) e Kameez (camicia): i vestiti tradizionali da uomo in Pakistan. Sicuro di avere escogitato un metodo per sminuire la mia visibilità indossai i miei capi nuovi ed a piedi raggiunsi uno snack bar, in cui mai prima ero entrato, poco lontano dalla mia guest house.

Fui subito notato dall’addetto alla cassa:

“Ohh, stile Pakistan oggi. Molto bene. Bel colore, bella scelta. Americano Sir?” mi chiese con lo smartphone già in mano.

Non c'era nulla da fare. Discovery Channel o no, per me non c’era via di scampo...

(….mai stato sul Disco Channel!)


Thanks for Reading! Please don't forget to Upvote, Comment and Share. Follow @john-gpr 👍😃*

Sort:  

Bell'articolo!
Ti seguirò anche su Discovery Channel allora! :))

😂...con Alberto Angela.

😂il buon vecchio Alberto non stava su Rai 3..o 2..o 1...mah!?😂

Good to read that you are still traveling around safe. Also, like that you did the post in Indian and English.

8 ) infinity happiness

Thanks for stopping by 😀

Bello ascoltare le tue storie.

Apprezzo i tuoi commenti Paola 😀

Figata di viaggio!!!
Io son stato 1 anno in viaggio da Cuba fino alla Terra del Fuoco in fondo all'Argentina... indimenticabile!!!
Un abbraccio
Lucas... e Steemitri The Mannequin

....si e' stata una bella avventura e come ben sai rimane il desiderio di ripartire prima o poi per replicare in qualche altra parte del globo. Ti auguro di riuscirci...presto! 👍

Podium meritatissimo!

Grazie Paola ! 😃

mi hai fatto venire voglia di ripartire...

...sono sicuro che lo farai senz'altro 😃

Hello, my name is Nadine and I am new on Steemit. Would be very nice if you could check out my post and maybe you want to follow back. Thank you.
https://steemit.com/travel/@leo-tmp/explore-the-beauty-of-northern-thailand-chiang-mai-my-travel-diary
And I really love your post. Very very interesting.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Sep 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $26.99 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 17 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Congratulations @john-gpr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01