Cinque Terre, Italy: VernazzasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

180709_CinqueTerre_LUT_Landscape_Steemit.jpg

The Best Country on Earth:

Real talk, I'm not sure it gets much better than Italy. I'm an American and I've traveled to twenty plus different countries. I LOVE my country. Nothing beats home. But Italy is my top travel destination and I'm not sure that will ever change.

Also, I'm pretty sure my future wife is Italian.

I've been twice. In the summer of 2017 I traveled there alone after working a job in Ibiza, Spain. One year later I found myself working the same gig but this time in Sardinia, Italy. There wasn't a chance I was leaving the country without doing as much exploring as my bank account could afford. This time I was accompanied by a friend and damn did we see a lot of stuff.

My favorite city, hands down, is Rome. There's truly no place more magical. But the one thing I love to do, which is close to impossible to do in Rome, is fly my drone. I fly that thing as often and as incognito as I can all around the world. Cut to Cinque Terre (I can say the cliche line "cut to" because I'm a video editor).

This coast town, which I didn't even know existed before Jeff suggested it (that's the friend), was one of the coolest spots we visited. Every town along this coast is only accessible by boat or by train. Once on the coast, you can hike from town to town, something I HIGHLY recommend. It's not for the light of heart and it takes up a good hour or two to get from one town to the next but the views are breathtaking.

The one and only hike we did landed us in Vernazza. The photo above is hands down my favorite shot from the entire trip. After walking through the town and picking up a couple slices of pizza, we headed up the hill behind the cove and found a spot to launch the drone from. About thirty minutes later I had flown enough to grab this shot and various others.

So if you're going to Italy any time soon, make sure you stop by Cinque Terre. Jeff and I only spent a day there and we saw almost every town. If I could do it all over again, and I probably will, I'd spend at least a couple nights somewhere along this gorgeous coastline.

Comment below with any questions, inquiries or traveling tips/suggestions!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58