On The Hunt For Bangkok's Best Speakeasy Bars With Jockey! And The Winner Is.... ๐Ÿ˜‰

in #travel โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

I had read about Bangkok's speakeasy bar scene and wanted to see them for myself...

A speakeasy bar is something unfamiliar to me as the concept came from America during prohibition times. They were bars which sold illicit alcohol and tried to hide their activities.

In truth they are like all good bars the world over - hard to find, great atmosphere and good booze!

During my time in Bangkok I went to three speakeasy bars. I have heard there are more and better ones. I would be glad to hear from any Steemian with input - I will visit next time I am in the Kingdom! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Here are my reviews:

Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 14.37.45.png

J. Boroski

Stumbling down a dark alleyway an innocuous wall opens up into what feels like a cave. I wear dark glasses to see anyway so I literally couldn't see a thing! I was practically blind.

I let the mixologist choose our poison for us. The drinks were odd and extremely expensive.

Feeling my way up the black stairs and over dark bodies, I shuffled to the smoking room which had a little faint light. The style was antique and quaint. Peering through plants I met New Friends in curls of smoke. The vibe was international.

New Friends knew the speakeasy I wanted to go to next... So off back up the alley we grope to the next bar...

Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 14.42.23.png

Rabbit Hole

Another innocuous door with no sign but a much brighter interior. I thought it would have been cooler if it had been called down the rabbit hole, but perhaps that's too long! ๐Ÿ˜‰

It was crowded with mostly Thai groups that night. They made me a strong drink with Absinthe which made an already tidily Jockey even more drunk.... That night was over. Bangkok shuts early these days! ๐Ÿ˜ข

Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 14.49.59.png

And The Winner Of The Coolest Bangkok Speakeasy Bar For Jockey Is: Havana Social - By 2 Lengths! ๐Ÿ˜‰

On another night I was complaining to a good friend that the previous two bars had been good but I wanted more.

"Take me to the limit" I demanded!

He smiled and told me to follow him...

So down the steeming urban streets we shuffled... oohmf!

Rounding a corner he stopped to look at his phone... I asked what he was doing and he told me that we needed the code to get in!

Excellent! Sounding grooovy already!

Down the dark alley my friend walks us into a phone booth... This was the Superman style entrance to the clear winner of this speakeasy contest!

Here is a photo of the old coin operated phone booth I took:

IMG_2118.JPG

He punches in the pin number he has received by SMS into the old metal keys of the phone, then the wall clicks open. We're in!

As we entered a line of hat hooks on the wall held white cuban hats. My friend took one but as I was already wearing a waffle textured white cheese-cutter, I didn't need a stylish hat!

The walls were distressed concrete, the sound and vibe cuban. Although I have never been to Havana this is exactly how I imagined it might be.

At my request they served us strong cuba libres made with vintage dark rum and lots of extra lime. My friend informed me that the venue always seems different to him as they regularly switch the events up. Music, Dancing, and Fun seem to be the order of the day at Havana Social. We relaxed in large leather chairs and chatted...

When I went upstairs to the toilet I could smell the rich smell of Havana cigars and hear laughter wafting out of the smoking room. The men's toilet had an old mono radio playing crackly old Cuban jazz through it...

The aural effect of that old speaker added the perfect amount of verisimilitude to the scene. My astral transportation to the Cuba of my dreams was complete!

Pure class! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I loved all these bars but Havana Social took the cake. Visit them if you get the chance and let me know if you have better gems to share!

Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 15.22.29.png


Image sources: 1, 2, 3, 4 - @jockey, 5.


Jockey loves you All & Plants as Medicine! ๐Ÿ˜‰
Jockey votes 4: @teamsteem, @ausbitbank, @aggroed, @timcliff, @drakos.


21443250_1519260948137902_1665540863_n.jpg

Sort: ย 

I'll have to find that bar in Bangkok. Going in May!

Sukhumvit around the back of Soi 11 mate! Shhhhh..... LOL! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Sometimes it feels like we share a different city @Jockey ... But that's another reason to love amazing Bangkok. Thanks for sharing ... Geoff

Hahaha... I'm not in Bangkok as much as I used to be... There are other places which resonate more these days! I'm glad you are in BKK - I expect the Steemit community to grow quickly there! Followed and UPvoted buddy! =)

Thanks mate, much appreciated. I was sick of giving away my content to Blogspot, YouTube and Facebook et al for free. Jut wish I'd come to Steemit 18 months ago when first advised to do so. Oh well, onwards and upwards.

Yes mate we all do! Upwards we go! Still early adopters mate! I don't check steemit.chat much but feel free to message me - especially if you ride your bike over to Cambodia! ;-)

The ceiling in the first picture though...
And must check out that Cuban bar, a good mojito smash (with mango juice I think) or a cuba libre is never wrong:)

Agreed it was awesome but I couldn't see it... My fault for always wearing dark glasses! LOL! ๐Ÿด

Nice boy!

Thanks! =)

Hello @jockey I really like your post, hope you keep posting other interesting things.

greetings from me @riziqasshiddiq do not forget to visit my post and leave your upvote and comment

Bars by bars, i guess it was long night or a day. :-D
It does matter when you seem too strange or often confuse within different platforms, expecting more or less. :-);-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59488.68
ETH 2538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52