You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travelling with DieBaasMan #1: Cathedral Peak (including: 20+ Photo's)

in #travel7 years ago

What lovely shots you have there of the bell and inner and outer horn, has changed quite a bit since our honeymoon +40 years ago @diebaasman

Never had the chapel nor golf course, I suppose a lot has changed with time. The gardens were the passion of Mrs. van der Riet the parents of William who I believe runs it now.

When we visited she was in the garden early, giving instruction to her assisting staff of what flowers would be cut for the day to prepare fresh in the dining room.

Many would hike to the top through the cabbage patch under the guidance of 'old' John who took a mirror up to the top and reflected down to the hotel. I believe he had a wonderful knack of knowing when to 'wind up' and get going, he had a built in weather detector all of his own, his son took over from him.

Sort:  

It's weird how things changes over time. I used to stay in Steelpoort / Burgersfort about 15 years back and it was a real shock when I went there last year. I hardly recognized the place with all the changes that took place.

I am glad to see they kept the tradition of Mrs. van der Riet alive and looked so well after the gardens. Where I stay in Empangeni it's actually sad to see how little people look after their gardens. A garden should always be the pride of your property.

Have a splendid weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67753.34
ETH 3502.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82