You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Havey’s Australia & New Zealand Adventure Part 16 – Hobbiton & Kaituna River Rafting, North Island NZ

in #travel5 years ago

You didn't see Gollum down the waterways, Oh well always a next time possibly. Both visits sound amazing, very different adventures, you definitely squeezed in lots of action on your trip over.

The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings Trilogy are books I still have, bought them in the early 1970's have enjoyed reading them a couple of times over. First movie attempt was animated, IMHO a complete hack! When Peter Jackson did the series I was amazed at the quality given to books that deserved the respect he gave to them.

No video series absolutely captures all the detail of the book, Peter Jackson did come close, now you must read the books....

Sort:  

Haha no I think he may be under the waterfall as we were being pulled back in a bit! Maybe the other two who fell in saw the cheeky little devil!

You couldn't pick two more contrasting activities really haha. But it is possible to do both in the same day 😁

I don't know too much about the history of the films. What happened then? It was a disaster in the animated film and PJ revived it? I think I will have to get myself the trilogy now you mentioned it! Never read them, just watched the movies

Posted using Partiko Android

Personally I thought the animated in 1978 movies to be, well not well done, each to their own. PJ definitely put in the effort these books deserved.

Once you read the books you will fill in the blanks, things that really stood out and were missed. If taken into the movie I am sure it would have been many hours longer, all in all it was still exceptionally well done.

Hmm maybe they launched that cartoon series too soon and it required the special effects that were available in the 21st century.

I have heard that there was a lot more that could have been squeezed in to the movies from the books. I did feel in the first film that it dragged on a little bit and it was just the hobbits walking with nothing too much happening. But then, I haven't seen the first one for a while. We only watched the 3rd one after Hobbiton visit 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57868.91
ETH 2362.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36