A WALK IN MY SHOES: A JOURNEY SPONSORED BY STEEMIT

in #travel6 years ago

Boy do I have a story for you guys..
but first I want to say a big thank you @akintunde for the indirect motivation to be better. I’m not much of a writer, quite frankly I don’t write at all but

”You can be anything you want if you try” he said

This is a journey I took today from Ibadan to Lagos for a Job interview I did not apply for but was invited for sponsored by steemi. Take a walk in my shoes and I hope you enjoy.

My pictures are very not of good quality so please bare with me

THE CALL

It’s a hot Wednesday evening and I just got back from a class, from which I came out less educated than when I went in, I’m sitting on my bed thinking about what I will eat. My phone rings but I do not know it is…

Hi I’m Vanessa from Digital Jewels. I saw your CV online and I was wondering if you would be interested in an Internship. There would be an interview on Monday will you be available.

“HECK YEAH ID BE AVAILABLE”

“But Oga you are broke” I think to myself, how do intend to make the trip. A few ideas cross my mind but none of them would be feasible by Monday. Then it hit me…. I’ve got SBD…you can imagine my Joy.

So I grab my phone and I open up telegram, flip through to a group my “Coachie” @abeem90 recommended. OLAMAX EXCHANGE run by @olamax and before you could say ”STEEMIT ROCKS” I got an alert…. I have the money for trip to LAGOS. Yes I was going to Lagos, a place I have the uttermost dread for.

THE JOURNEY TO…

Its Monday, I have the money I need, my interview is for 10am so I figured if left Ibadan by 6am I’d be there in time for the interview. But fate something else in store for me. And so my journey has begun,

IMG_20180212_065004.jpg

in 2 hours I am already at berger, I know I have entered lagos because the voices got louder a enraged passengers fought with conductors who equally fought back. I haven’t been here in a long while but still recognize the place, its changed a lot but I still recognize the hustle and bustle of the famed LAGOS CITY.

1 hour to my interview, “I’ve got time” I think to myself but wait what’s this? A long queue for the bus. What in the world I going on. I have never ever been in a queue for a bus before.

Now I’m panicking, I may not have as much time as I thought

I get my ticket and get on the bus. “shouldn’t take more than 30 minutes to get to the next bus stop” I thought. Oh how wrong I was.

IMG_20180212_101611.jpg

Its been 1 hour since I got on the bus and from my enquiries I still had a long way to go. The heat starts to take its toll and the frustration sets in.

“I’m not gonna make it”

But then the most amazing thing happened.

For the first time I got on the THIRD MAINLAND BRIDGE and boy was it a sight to behold. Most definitely the longest
bridge I have ever seen going across the largest body of water I have ever seen.
It was beautiful,

IMG_20180212_101555.jpg

canoes and boats dot the water as men and women cast their nets to catch their daily bread, the gentle rippling of the water as the hot air breezes over the surface, I even see one of those large freight ships that carry big containers docked at one side. I am blown away, and for a minute I forget my impending predicament.

I cannot take proper pictures because I’m standing in a bus going 60km/hr with unpredictable stops that could send me toppling at any point.

Speaking of which, a sudden stop jugs me back to reality, its 10:30 and the bus is still moving. God have mercy on me. My tummy starts to sing too and I’m praying to God that by some miracle it is delayed.
Another 1 hour has gone by and I’m finally at the gate of the venue, the time says 11:30, with a deep breath I walk in…

THE INTERIEW

IMG_20180212_114531.jpg

As I walk in I see three corporate looking young men sitting in the waiting area.

My prayers were answered, the interview has not started so I gleefully take my seat with them.

I peruse the place casually with my eyes, an exotic and serene little reception with a pretty lady manning it, beautiful lights, the 3 guys looking sharp and me looking like I just escaped world war 2

I MADE IT

“They are ready for you now” the pretty lady says. We get up and move to the interview room, turns out its actually just a written test and a very tricky one if I might add. I quickly glance through the questions and mentally mark the easy answers (I always do that), I’m still hungry but I have to concentrate.
Occasionally I look up to see if the other guys are having as much fun as I am with these questions

  • Math
  • Concord
  • Parallelism
  • Quantitative reasoning
  • Abstract reasoning

Oh my this is fun. 45 minutes later and I had in my script and walk out triumphantly hehehehehehehe. I can think straight again. My tummy reminds me that he is empty so I’m walking to the park think of food and gisting with a fellow interviewee, Apparently he also did not apply for the Job just like me and he was waiting for a call from my school for his admission to post graduate study. I get to the park and I find relief from the pangs of hunger…
IMG_20180212_135532.jpg

THE RETURN

I see a line for the bus but its okay I’m in no hurry, I finally board and we are off. Like all journeys the return seemed shorter than when I was coming. Again that beautiful sight and this time I really appreciate it cos I’m not panicking. Before I know it the bus has come to a final halt so I get off and walk up the pedestrian bridge.

again what a sight, Lagos is a very fascinating place.IMG_20180212_144834.jpg

There is the bus going to Ibadan, I get in and I’m waiting for it to get filled up, two “SLAY QUEENS” join in the bus and slowly but sure other passengers join in to. The bus is full but the driver is no where to be found and the heat seemed to have tripled now. Our Slay queens begin to RANT, raining curses and what not. MEHN THESE GIRLS ARE RAZZ O.
The driver finally comes and apologizes but our slay queens are not appeased at all. The driver ignores them and starts to batter with the “guys” that helped him load the bus. This enrages our slay queens even more. Oya the driver too Is now angry and he is arguing with them all through the ride to Ibadan.

PROLOGUE

I am back home and I am happily taking you through my journey and I will remain eternally grateful to steemit for the providing the funds when I had no where else to turn to.

Thank you for reading

Sort:  

Thank you for reading

We should thank you rather , for writing this lovely piece. Highly Conversational !

I tell you @akintunde. This guy @jo5h is so real. I like the way he expresses himself in writing. I hope that's how you are in person. I pray you get the job. Cheers

tears i dunno what to say.... Im so happy right now sniffs.... Thank you doc.... Thank you so much....

Danke mein Freund

You're welcome

Wow...what an experience!!! And i'm so proud of you for this write up.... Way up baby😘

Awwwn i'm blushing

Your post was selected to be included in my "Diamond in the Rough" series. It's goal is to promote high-quality posts made by new steemians (red fish and minnow) thereby helping them get the exposure they need to grow and thrive within the Steemitverse. You may check the related post Diamonds in the Rough @sandalphon.

You deserve much for this
Thumbs up

Gracias senora

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jo5h from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65156.13
ETH 3530.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48