Van Road trip Itinerary in New-Zealand

in #travel7 years ago

Hey guys,

I thought it could be a good idea to help people who wants to travel in New-Zealand to have an example of itinerary. I prepared this trip for many years while collecting all informations on internet and Facebook's groups.

This itinerary is covering the entire country with all the most famous part. Only the main point are highlighted on it but there are hundreds more places to visit (all around the main spot).

From hidden waterfalls to secret lakes, I can help you discovering them. Upvote me or write a comments if you are interested and I will give you the informations you need.

So far on my itinerary I'm in Wanaka. I did all the Fiordland and the road to Invercargill and decided to go back north and stay for the winter in a warm house. Why Wanaka? Because it is a fantastic and relaxing city next to ski resorts : perfect for the winter. I will tell you more about Wanaka on an other post.

Other posts will come explaining each steps of my itinerary and the to-do list.
I'm a tourist but I don't like tourist, so I will show you all the places I found off the grid.

Regarding the itinerary -

North Island : I arrived in Auckland and headed straight to the NorthLand (Maori's land) :

FullSizeRender-3.jpg

Back to Auckland, I started the way down into the central north island part (volcanic thermal activities and big caves) :

FullSizeRender-4.jpg

All the way down to Wellington, the city of wind, before taking the boat for the South Island :

FullSizeRender-5.jpg

South Island : A fantastic part on the west coast with sand beaches and sandflies (your worst enemy trust me)

FullSizeRender-6.jpg

All the way down to the Fiordland and the Southern big city in New Zealand : Invercargill

FullSizeRender-7.jpg

From there, I haven't finished yet but I will follow of course my itinerary. Here what's comes next :

FullSizeRender-8.jpg

Then, visit of Christchurch and the surroundings :

FullSizeRender-10.jpg

After that, on Google maps, I wasn't able to join Christchurch to Blenheim via the Kaikoura road because of the earthquake, the road is closed at the time I'm writing this post. Probably for about an other one or 2 years as the damage are very important. There is the road inland that you can take (and the one I will take) but you will miss Kaikoura (the city of Whales and Dolphins).

So the itinerary carries on at Blenheim and all the way back to Auckland from the East coast to make sure I cover the whole country.

FullSizeRender-9.jpg

The whole trip is about 3 months on the road if you take your time enjoying each places (4 months if you drive like a snail).
It is feasible in 1 month too for the one with a shorter trip but you will not be able to spend as much time as you would love to in the places.

If you have any comments, or any advices for my way back to the North don't hesitate to let me know :).

Hope that will help new travellers and save some time for you.

Joris

Sort:  

This is awesome! thanks for putting it together and sharing it. i will do a 2 months roadtrip Mid Jan - Mid Mar. Havent done much prep so this is extremely inspiring. I want to buy a camper and sell it as well. How was your experience on that? Any leads :-)?

Happy that will help you ! :)
You need to make sure it has a rego and wof accurate and make sure you have the historic of the car because there are a lot of shit cars around lol

Thanks! i ve heard that - wish me luck :-) i land on monday and start the trip as soon as i found a home on wheels. yaaay

Thanks for all your arduous work, here's a bunch of token of appreciation!

Thank you my friend ! Hope that will help

Congratulations @jlcrypto! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36