Seaside, Oregon

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Where We Stayed

I recently came back from a trip to Seaside, Oregon with my family and our close friends. We stayed in a place called Rogers Inn, I couldn’t say I’d recommend it all that much though. The manager was not very friendly, our group even had a bit of an argument over who didn’t close the cover of his hot tub, thankfully it was handled and he apologized for the misunderstanding. The house itself seemed a bit worn down and not really taken care of, there was no air conditioning so it felt like a sauna in my room, but I do tend to be pickier than others in where I stay. The house was a three-story and it had a nice kitchen with a lot of cabinet space. The place also had a hot tub, as mentioned before, and a bonfire. We roasted marshmallows there on our last day.
IMG_3114.JPG

Dance Competition

The national dance competition had started before we arrived but we made sure we watched our friends group. There were multiple amazing dancers on the stage and you could tell how much they wanted to win, but while having fun doing so. I find so much enjoyment from watching people do what they’re passionate about and I thoroughly enjoyed watching the dancers. I think one of my favorite dances was called The Village.

The Beach

The beach was my favorite part of this trip, it’s probably what you could probably expect from a west-coast beach: Very windy and a lot of clouds. The sun came out for three days during our four-night stay, but it was still very windy. Maybe it’s just me being used to the tropical beaches of Hawaii but I would say it was darn right cold. It’s a great place to fly a kite and make sand castles though.
IMG_3069.JPG

My Experience in Clam Hunting

A couple of us had gone clam hunting once we got a license for it, you’re allowed to take 15 clams per license and are not able to sort through them. (Meaning you can’t choose which clam you keep, you find it you keep it.) The residents were allowed to take as many as they wanted but if you were from elsewhere you need a license that expires in 3 days. We had to wake up around 6:45 am, which may not be too bad for some of you but I am definitely not a morning person. Minus tide would be coming around 7 am and so we wanted it to be as low as possible for us to find them. It took us about an hour or so till we knew what we were looking for, the razor clams make a little burrow or mound when they dig into the sand. Around 9:30 we finally got all 15 clams to bring back home, we planned to make clam strips out of them!
IMG_3107.JPG

We also noticed hundreds of sand dollars that washed up once the tide was lower. This would have to be my favorite sand dollar so far.
IMG_3103.JPG

Nature Photos!

Seaside has many different flowers all around their city and I’ve been taking multiple pictures. I’m not sure how long it may take to identify them so I won’t bother, but if you’re interested feel free to look them up with a little description. I’ll be happy to edit my post with more information.

Lily
IMG_3062.JPG

Dahlia
IMG_3076.JPG

IMG_3077.JPG
IMG_3079.JPG
IMG_3080.JPG
Clematis
IMG_3081.JPG
IMG_3083.JPG

Seaside Overview

Seaside is a cute town that with a variety of different foods, multiple stores full of unique items, and many places to visit. There’s a lot of things to do in Seaside, including flying a kite, clam hunting, going on the tilt a whirl, playing mini golf, and much more, a link of more things to do here. I enjoyed my time here more because of who I was with, my family and friends made this place dear to me and if you’d like to visit I recommend going with something to do in mind or grab some of your friends and hop right into doing something random.

Disclaimer: All pictures were taken by me and my iPhone, I left the source of any pictures that were not taken by myself beneath the photo.

Steemit Worldmap Code: [//]:# (!steemitworldmap 45.992720 lat -123.922726 long d3scr)

Sort:  

I love Oregon! I'm sure it's vastly different coming from Hawaii though.

I recognized a couple of the flower pics. The first one is a type of lily. The second is a dahlia, my favorite. Later, you have a purple flower with kind of pointy leaves. That's a clematis. :-) Thanks for sharing pics of your time in Oregon!

Thank you so much for the info. on the flowers!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jewlzie
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=seaside-oregon


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55290.41
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32