Oatlands Tasmania

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

A vintage styled photo I took this year is of the gorgeous historic town called Oatlands in Tasmania

Oatlands is one of Tasmania's oldest settlements and was named by Governor Macquarie after an English town in the county of Surrey in 1821. It was developed as a military base for the control and management of convicts because of its central location between Hobart and Launceston. Convicts were assigned to nearby farms and properties, and also worked on public buildings, roads and bridges.

Sort:  

I like this picture @jetstream! Nice vintage colors indeed, what camera did you capture this with? The mill looks a bit like a Dutch windmill, the country where I am from :).

I'm still new to Steemit and I recently finished my fourth post. I try to give constructive feedback on other peoples pictures in a fun and easygoing way. If you have some spare time, would you maybe have a look at my most recent post and tell me what you think? I would appreciate it a lot!

Enjoy your weekend

Thanks for the compliment photofeedback. This photo was taken on a Canon 5D ii. The early settlers in Tasmania did bring European influences with them when it came to architecture. Cheers

Congratulations @jetstream! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jetstream! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66195.81
ETH 3505.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18