THE CANADIAN ROCKIES - HEAVEN ON EARTH 🌎

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

20160829-115549-canoe-on-blue-moraine-lake-1680.jpg

P6240104-sunrise-at-moraine-lake.jpg

P6074794-emerald-lake-canoe-1680.jpg


A few years ago, I was a travel agent. Turns out I hated it. I just didn’t click with the job.

I would arrange holidays to destinations like Fiji, England, USA and Thailand. And I would often hand out brochures on the Canadian Rockies. And although the photos were quite striking, I never really envisioned myself visiting these places. I don’t know why but I never felt a strong pull to the Americas. I was always interested in travelling to Europe and Asia.

So when Ben & I decided to pack up shop and move to Canada, it came as quite a surprise to everyone, including myself.

I’ll never forget it. Ben came home after a bender one Sunday afternoon. I was getting out of the shower and he walked in. I blurted out..."Let's move to Canada". And Bens response was,"I was just talking about doing that! OK!”

And so we did.

I had done a working holiday in London ten years earlier so I guess I was getting itchy feet again. And Ben had a friend already living in British Columbia who had been raving about how awesome it is there.

Anyway, the reason I write this is because Canada is now one of my most favourite places on Earth. More specifically, the Canadian Rockies. I’m sure it’s a pretty common reaction to feel connected to a place, but I physically feel different when I'm there.

Spine tingling different.

So what makes this place so special to me? It’s everything really. It’s the mountains, the lakes, the rivers, the wildlife, the forests. It’s living, breathing love. And to think I never wanted to come here!

Here are some of my favourite places to visit:

Moraine Lake

Hot tip: Get here early!

20160829-115042-Blue-Lake-Moraine.jpg


Lake Louise

Hot tip: Get here early!

P6240254-boathouse-lake-louise.jpg


Peyto Lake

Hot tip: Get here early!

P6240287-peyto-lake.jpg


Yeah Banff National Park gets BUSY! It’s a bit of a shame but I can’t complain. I’m one of the millions that flock to this place each year. I often wonder what all the animals think of us crazies.

Grassi Lakes

Hot tip: Take the more difficult hike. It offers great views and isn't difficult.

20170512_134632-Grassi-Lakes.jpg


Vermilion Lakes

Hot tip: At 5am, watch out for grizzlies that want to watch the sunrise with you.

20170606-044311-sunrise-vermilion-lakes-banff-1680-85.jpg


And then there’s Jasper National Park. She’s a beauty. Jasper looks a little more baron than Banff but that’s part of her charm. I love how the mountains look up there. Here are some of my favourite spots in Jasper National Park:

Pyramid Lake

Hot Tip: Make friends with the chipmunks on Pyramid Island.

P7040638-Pyramid-lake.jpg


Snaring River

Hot Tip: Bring bug spray, lots of it!

P7030514-snaring-river-jasper-sunset-1680.jpg


Maligne Lake

Hot tip: Don’t try to walk to Spirit Island like I did. It's a long way!

P1150205-foggy-maligne-lake-winter-1680.jpg


I am looking forward to getting back to the Rockies this Summer. And I'm also keen to explore more of the mountain ranges in the USA. Glacier National Park and The Tetons are definitely on the list. Any other must dos?

JessicaOutside-logo-blue.png

Sort:  

What a beauty!!! I wish I could visit. It is such an incredible country full of amazing places. I love nature. Thank you for sharing it!! Regards from Barcelona.

I hope you get to visit Canada one day soon. It really is a unique and interesting country, with tons of beauty. Thanks for reading and commenting. I'm glad you enjoyed it ❤

Hi @jessicaoutside, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Paddling Nature Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Thanks so very much! I really appreciate it ❤

These types of photos always inspires us for travelling. We all should see the beauty of nature and remember one thing we are the people who are destroying the beauty of earth. Keep loving nature & happy travelling.

I love that photos can inspire us to go out and explore this place we call home. It really is a wonderful world that we should all admire and enjoy. We just have to look after her. Happy trails 😍

I need to visit the Rockies. I lived around Cascade mountains and near Mt. Hood in Oregon and loved being around forest, farms. I eat from my gardens.

Oregon is another favourite of mine. It's one of the states in the US that I really felt at home in. So much diversity from the coast out to the fossil beds. Simply stunning. Thanks for reading and commenting! I hope you make it to the Rockies soon

You are Jessica Outside, and I'm Joey Inside, haha. Oregon is cool like upstate NY where I lived.

Great pictures again! Canada didn't look like this when I visited!

Thanks very much legend.

Ahhh really? You'll just have to visit again 😉

I just love your photography and those
Canadian rockies!!
Resteemed for others to see your
awesome work @jessicaoutside!

Thank you!!!!! @shasta That's very kind. I'm glad you enjoy my photos because I love taking them. Thank you very much for the resteem. It means a lot

Wow! So beautiful! I love it, and want to go there, like, now!

Right?? Me too! Itching to get back there. As soon as possible please :)

Thanks for reading and commenting

You’re welcome! ;-) Looking forward to Reading more of you!

I just went through all your posts are they are really great. Please join Team Australia!

Wow thanks @choogirl what an honour! 😮 I will get back to you asap with my fun fact. Thanks again legend, your support means the world ❤

Yay! I'm writing this week's update now, if you want in. It will take me a couple of hours so you've got a bit of time. Otherwise, you'll have to wait a week to get on the dole.

Haha...so good. I've been reading up on it and the curation trail sounds great. Still wrapping my head around all of this. Here's a couple of fun facts. Let me know if you need anything else.

  • I am a poker queen! I have dreams of making it big one day without the balls to back it up.
  • Cheesy fries and wine are life.

Looking forward to being part of the team

Some amazing photos you have here, Jess, I love the first one; Having the entire frame full of water really creates a big scale.
The Rockies really are beautiful, driving back and forth through them since before I can remember. And wouldn't you know it? Never officially visited Banff yet.

Cheers,
Speck.

Thanks Speck! They really are spectacular aren't they.

Ah you must stop in one day. It can be a bit of a shit show but totally worth it. We had to return for a second time just to see Moraine. They wouldn't let us in the first time we were there.

The drive through there is so good hey. I love how to animals have their own road crossings too. Really neat idea.

Oh Yeah!
The nature overpasses, I really like the concept of those. Too bad we don't see more of them in urban areas as a way to reclaim parkland.
Have you taken Crow's nest pass and driven through Frank's slide yet? That's also a beautiful dive as it's a little less developed/refined. More winding and rugged.

I dont think I have. I'll definitely keep in it mind as we'll be travelling through there soon. I just looked it up. Looks epic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48