Christmas Day in London in photographs

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

When I think of Christmas in London - the first thing that comes to my mind is suspended transport. The last year I have been enjoying the festivity with my family at home, but this year I decided to get a bike and see what is happening on streets on 25th of December. The pictures follow my route from Zone 2 to Zone 1 which took me about two hours. Hope you will enjoy my photographs.

Christmas in London by Jerboa (14).JPG

Christmas in London by Jerboa (1).JPG

Christmas in London by Jerboa (2).JPG

The streets in my area were quite empty compared to a regular day.

Christmas in London by Jerboa (4).JPG

Can anyone help to identify this amazing car?

Christmas in London by Jerboa (6).JPG

Tower Hill.

Christmas in London by Jerboa (7).JPG

Christmas in London by Jerboa (8).JPG

People taking pictures in front of the Tower of London, built in 1078 and rebuilt in 1285.

Christmas in London by Jerboa (12).JPG

The Bank, known as one of the most confusing tube stations in London Underground network.

Christmas in London by Jerboa (15).JPG

Christmas in London by Jerboa (16).JPG

Christmas in London by Jerboa (17).JPG

This is where I got lost, and my GPS failed. Luckily I found this lovely place and eventually managed to get out.

Christmas in London by Jerboa (18).JPG

Christmas in London by Jerboa (19).JPG

Leicester Square and lots of people to my surprise. Most restaurants and cafes were closed.

Christmas in London by Jerboa (21).JPG

Christmas in London by Jerboa (23).JPG

Trafalgar Square Christmas tree. Since 1947 Norway supplies trees in gratitude for support of Britain during World War II. The tree was selected from a forest in Norway and shipped across the North Sea. This particular tree is more than a 100 years old.

Christmas in London by Jerboa (25).JPG

The National Gallery in Trafalgar Square founded in 1824.

Christmas in London by Jerboa (27).JPG

Christmas in London by Jerboa (28).JPG

Piccadilly Circus built in 1819.

Christmas in London by Jerboa (29).JPG

Camera: Canon EOS 60D
Lens: Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM

Read Jerboa's Blog

Sort:  

The car:
Probably a Nissan Figaro manufactured in 1991. You can actually inquire about this (or any) car on DVLA website.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_Figaro

I would never think of Nissan D: Thank you @hatuyuki!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70