Diary of a First Timer: Tinago Falls

in #travel7 years ago

Diary of a First Timer: Tinago Falls



Hi Steemians! I am really grateful for your warm support to my travel blogs and to my other posts. I know I am still new to this platform, but your support and encouragements through comments made me do more and explore more about Steemit. I may not have the finances yet to travel to faraway places, but I will never lose hope that sooner or later I will be able to do that. So for now, just enjoy what my beloved city can offer.

I had featured the places that I had been for a couple of times with my previous blogs. I had also mentioned that I am one of the 1% out of 100 who has never been into travels and vacations in other places. It’s not that I don’t want to, but I just don’t have the finances to do it. I was not raised with that kind of living. So when Steemit came into my life, I now have the reason to explore this world. Not only to feature it in my blogs but also to pamper myself since I had been facing a lot of challenges this past few year.

My travel buddies and I were really planning to go to Jasaan but something happened that is beyond our control so we decided to go to a nearer place. We changed our location to Tinago Falls. Why, because I had never been there with my 23 years of existence. Yes, a part of it is Iligan City but still, I was not able to visit here. So when I was given a chance, I really did grab the opportunity to do so.


beyjh.jpg


Tinago Falls is a waterfall on the Agus River. It is located between Linamon and Iligan City, Lanao Del Norte, Philippines. It is one of the main tourist attractions of Iligan City since it is one of the Tourism Triangle of Iligan City, along with Maria Christina Falls and Mimbalot Falls.

Tinago is a Filipino term meaning " hidden", the falls being hidden in a deep ravine. Trekking to the falls requires approximately 500 descending steps called the winding staircase. The falls is high so it’s very cold waters cascading beautifully into a deep and calm basin-like pool which appears like a blue-colored lagoon. Under the falls is a small cave where people can enter and listen to the rumbling waters. source


HOW WE GOT THERE?


Since we live on the other side of the city, we had to ride a Dalipuga Liner Jeepney from our place to the jeepney stop at the front of Zoey’s Café.



source


This is where we are going to wait for a Buruun Liner Jeepney that would bring us to the boundary of Barangay Buruun and Linamon.


IMG_1803[1].JPG


After reaching the boundary, we rented a motorcycle with a sidecar to bring us to Tinago Falls. We traveled more or less 5 km. before we reached the entrance of Tinago Falls.


IMG_1808.JPG


Actually, there are two entrances of Tinago falls. One is at Buruun, Iligan City and one is at Municipality of Linamon, Lanao Del Norte. My friends and I decided to go through Linamon because they said that it is easier to go there compared to the other entrance.


UPON ARRIVAL


IMG_2540.JPG


As we reached the gate of Tinago Falls, we paid for the entrance, cottage, and life jacket. (I will put all the expenses below) I was excited back then but I was hesitant when I saw the very long stairs.


IMG_1826.JPG


I took a deep breath and started walking down the stairs since Tinago Falls is located at the bottom of the stairs. I actually forgot to count the number of steps of the stairs because I really got tired. But it was fulfilling when we reached the bottom and saw the beautiful Tinago Falls. It was really worth it.


IMG_1840.JPG


WHAT WE DID THERE?


After reaching our cottage, we started to prepare our lunch. We prepared grilled pork, grilled fish and kinilaw, a raw seafood dish here in the Philippines.


IMG_1869.JPG


After eating our Lunch, we decided to try the riding the balsa which is a boat made of bamboo. At first, I was afraid because I don’t know how to swim but with the help of the life jacket, I was feeling better then. The guide offered to take the photos so we can really enjoy the view.


IMG_2020.JPG


It was really fun! I had never felt this kind of enjoyment. Not because it was my first time, but the natural beauty of Tinago falls is really amazing. The water is cold and it feels good as the water falls on our body. It kind of massage our body especially at the back part. I was even shouting with happiness while we were on the balsa. The guide took a lot of photos and video of us. The guide even brought us to the rock formations and took photos of us.


IMG_2069.JPG


But another customer came and the balsa left us along with the guide. It went back to the starting line. Then the guide told us that we have to jump into the water and go back to the starting line. I did not agree because I was afraid that I might get drowned because I don’t know how to swim. Fortunately, my friend offered me a help and he guided me to the starting line. Though I know I will never get drowned because I have a jacket, but I really have this fear of swimming in deep water, especially if I don’t see the bottom of it.


IMG_2100.JPG

Sorry for the very low quality of the picture.


We went back to our tent and ate again because we got hungry after what we did. We rested for a couple of minutes then decided to go back to the water because it is colder to stay at our cottage. I was less afraid of my second attempt at jumping at the water because I really pushed myself to trust my friends and my life jacket. If I would let my fear to win over me, then I won’t be able to enjoy the place. I was really happy because I had conquered one of my fears. I kept on jumping into the water without the help of my friends.


IMG_2264.JPG


Then we decided to climb rock formations and took photos with it.


IMG_2273.JPG


It was late in the afternoon when my friends and I decided to pack our things and go home. We were really happy not only because of what we did there but also we were given a chance to see each other again and spent a quality time with them. We were really tired then. But when we saw the stairs again, we got more tired. The reality slapped us that we must climb these very long stairs to go home. The stairs may be long but we had conquered it again, though it’s very tiring and I thought I would get leg cramps.


IMG_2520.JPG


We rode again a motorcycle sidecar to the boundary of Linamon and Buruun. Then we rode again a Buruun Liner that would bring us to the City proper where we can wait for a Dalipuga jeepney Liner that would bring us home.


IMG_2482.JPG


EXPENSES BREAKDOWN


It will not cost you that much to witness and see the beautiful Tinago Falls.


From Dalipuga to City Proper14
City Proper to Buruun14
Buruun to Linamon40
Entrance fee25
Life jacket25
Cottage150
Balsa20
Linamon to Buruun40
Buruun to City Proper14
City Proper to Dalipuga14
TOTALP342

WILL YOU GO BACK?


Definitely! I am even planning to bring my family and relatives here for them to see Tinago Falls and for me to be back here again. I don’t have an exact word to express what I feel but I will definitely be coming back here. You will really see how blessed we are to have this kind of masterpiece. We just have to take good care of this masterpiece and never disturb its natural form. I really hope you would really include Tinago falls on your Bucket List because it is really a Bucket List Worthy. It is not expensive plus a total relaxation will be offered.

So here is a video of us during our Tinago Falls Adventure.



Thank You for reading! Spread the love ♥ Spread the Good News. Keep Steaming!


agbg.jpg


steemitachievers.jpg

Sort:  

P25.00 ra sa Buruun muagi, tapos walay entrance. :D

mao lagi daw. sunod rasad ko sa grupo. First time nako diri :D

I miss my hometown 😭 thank you for sharing the beauty of tinago falls. I’m from Iligan and that’s one of my favorite places to go when visiting home. Upvoted and followed.

Wow. Really? Thank you! It is mine too now. Followed you too :)

Whoa! I think this travel blog deserves to be curied. I hope the curators noticed this. If I visit Iligan someday, will you accompany me to Tinago Falls Mam? Hehe 😅

I have been busy the whole month of January that I haven't been checking out the #steemitachievers tag. I didn't know we already have new interesting members in the group. Hehe. Keep steeming Mam! 🤗💚

wow. really? Thank you so much! I really appreciate it. I feel more determined now. Hopefully, they will notice me. And of course, why not! Just message me. :)

yay i like the last photo sis! you are so pretty!

i'm planning to go there by october. do you think its the best time to go there? also, naa bay mga puy anan duol ddto?

Thank you :) I really don't know. Anytime will do, basta di lang mag ulan para blue jud sya :D Murag sa city proper ang naay puy-anan.

i see.. i'll have to plan it ahead of time.. thanks again sis!

You are welcome and Happy Birthday :)

I'm an Iliganon myself but never been here sadly. Hopefully soon! :D

You really have to go here, swear! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45