5 Lessons Learned In 30 Minutes at 25-Feet Deep

in #travel6 years ago (edited)
 The deep blue sea may be intimidating and frightening at first. But try diving for 30 minutes, and you’ll realize that it’s certainly a whole new world that’s both fascinating and fragile.

Scuba diving is one of the adventures I’ve always dreamed of doing. But wait! This post won’t be a glorious rant about how I successfully ticked off one box on my travel bucket list. In fact, my 30-minute experience underwater is one of the reasons that might make me dismiss the idea of having a checklist, at all. Why?

 “Life’s most memorable moments are usually the unexpected ones.”

Yes, I dreamed of diving, but I did not plan the trip. I just went with some good friends of mine. Of course, like all first time divers, I was quite afraid and hesitant. I almost chickened out. But I just did the big leap. And at 25-feet deep, these thoughts filled my mind: 

  1. The ticking of the clock and the air we breathe set our limit.  So, it makes perfect sense to just enjoy the moment instead of striking a perfect pose (for Facebook and Instagram post) with the fishes and corals. We had an orientation prior to the dive while we’re aboard a boat sailing to the dive site. The instructor said we’re allowed to stay underwater only for 30 minutes max because that’s just the oxygen allowance. So, that’s it. In diving and in life, we always have time limits. We only have 24 hours a day, hence we should prioritize. 
  2. It’s equally worthwhile to spend our “alone time” with nature as much as it’s necessary to hang out with friends and family as often as we can. Seeing the fishes swimming around me is certainly a breath of fresh air. Diving takes you away, even just for a brief moment, from the ruckus and superficial chitchat of the urban life. 
  3. Mother Nature needs us as much as we need her. Water pollution and climate change threaten marine life, and who knows what would be left in our seas 5 or 10 years from now. Our country is teeming with natural resources. Our tropical forest is home to thousands of bird, plant and animal species, and our seas house the world's most diverse marine life habitats. However, according to a recent study conducted and published by WWF, “the Philippines ranks third among nations with the most ocean plastic pollution.” Indeed, we are our own demise, and we know very well where this would lead to. Marine life population is slowly dwindling, and we don’t know if our kids and grandkids would still have the chance to see them. But small acts DO matter, and it’s not too late to take action to preserve the beauty of our country. Disposing our garbage properly and participating in cleanup activities are simple acts we can do to help protect nature for the next generation. 
  4.  The first step is always the hardest and the scariest. I’ve observed my fellow first-time divers leap from the boat with hesitant steps. Fortunately for me, I was the last one to dive. So, out of fear that I’d be left behind by the boat, I took my first step with some urgency. I can still remember the words of the diver who mounted my equipment. He told me to hold my goggles close to my head, look far towards the horizon and take a big step. I followed the orders, and I felt myself sinking with the weight of the SCUBA gears attached to my back. I was scared, but I did it because I need to. 
  5.  The most life-changing moments usually happen outside our comfort zoneWe can have glorious plans on how our life should unfold. However, there are really things that can go out of control. Like preparing for a trip, we can research for the best itinerary to follow to ensure a happy and safe journey. But it’s not an assurance that nothing will ever go awry. I’m not being a pessimist here. I’m just being realistic. I’m just saying that confining ourselves with just the items on a travel checklist might prevent us to enjoy all the other pleasures of life, especially the simple and unexpected ones. Sometimes, we just have to be out there to have fun and just let things happen. 

Yes, diving is far from being a safe travel activity. However, it’s worth a try. Remember, 70% of the Earth's surface is covered in water, which means there's a lot to discover underwater.


If you're planning to go for a diving adventure this summer, you might like to visit Samal Island. Then, you can visit some of the attractions in Davao City, the home of President Rodrigo Duterte. Here are some of the attractions we visited during our diving vacation in Davao – you might like to include these in your itinerary as well:

  • Jack’s Ridge
  • Ateneo de Davao University
  • Victoria Mall
  • SM Lanang
  • Magsaysay Fruit Vendors Association
  • Chinatown

Have a safe travel. And remember the traveler's mantra: "Leave no Trace; Take nothing but pictures, leave nothing but footprints, and kill nothing but time."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61