The Purpose of Life : As told by an Indian Holy Man

in #travel8 years ago (edited)


As I walked along the Ganges river in Rishikesh, A Sanyasi called me up to his hut. We drank herbal tea with water from the Ganga and leaves from the forest. After tea, we cooked a meal we also foraged barefoot together. He had been living here by the river for nearly a decade. I wondered what he did with his time, what he was accomplishing here... A quest for spiritual growth maybe? 


So I asked him 

"Why do you wake up in the morning? What do you do? What is your purpose?" 


He quaintly replied 

"I like to play songs from the Gita on my guitar"


Something shook all my egoic ideals of purpose, fulfillment and achievement.


Simply enjoying,

Maybe that is the purpose.

Sort:  

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 6.0 and reading ease of 81%. This puts the writing level on par with Jane Austen and JK Rowling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44