The purpose of life: My trip to India

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

As I walked along the Ganges river, A Sanyasi called me up to his hut. We drank herbal tea with from the Ganga and leaves from the forest, and cooked a meal we foraged together. He had been living here by the river for nearly a decade. I wondered what he did with his time, what he was accomplishing here... A quest for spiritual growth maybe?

So I asked him
"Why do you wake up in the morning? What do you do? What is your purpose?"

He quaintly replied
"I like to play songs from the Gita on my guitar"

Something shook all my egoic ideals of purpose, fulfillment and achievement.

Simply enjoying,
Maybe that is the purpose.

Sort:  

Nice @jeffkirdeikis
Shot you an Upvote :)

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 4.1 and reading ease of 89%. This puts the writing level on par with Ernest Hemingway and Donald Trump.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50