You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moments on Maui PART 2: 🚣 Interrupting Tumor Turtle 🐢

in #travel7 years ago

Ach! That's not a pretty sight. Really though, I think if they were left alone (far far away from humans, that is) they would be better off. On their own they live for centuries, so I guess man-made influences might've contributed to their growth. There really should be efforts to remedy them of this before this gets out of hand. In another life I'm a marine bioligist, and would gladly take up the mantle for this initiative, but in this one I'm just a concerned software engineer.

Sort:  

I feel the same way! Before I ever wanted to be a programmer I wanted to be a marine biologist. One of my best friends went into that field and is saving sea stars.

I hope the scientists who are working on this figure out the cause soon, and that preventative measures can be taken.

Maybe it's a natural path for coders, talking about wanting to be a marine biologist but end up writing algorithms.

Haha, and then using money earned from writing algorithms to gawk at marine life... sounds about right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58091.16
ETH 2357.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44