MY SOJOURN TO SOUTH AFRICA---a land of bliss

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMAG0074.jpg
On my @introduceyourself maiden post where I broached about myself as an academician, it means that globetrotting will be an essential part of my vocation. I have, no doubt, travelled hither and thither for researches and conferences which have in no mean way impacted my academic space and widen my perception of different countries’ cultures, norms, ideals and ethos. Such vistas of different cultures and norms of varied countries have made me to accommodate different mild foibles from the citizens.

However, on this particular post, I want to relive my experience of my academic sojourn to @SouthAfrica which have remained enduring. I went for an academic conference but what I came back with about South Africa have made me enjoyed my continent more than ever. Despite the harrowing pedigree of apartheid and whatsnot, I believe that the country has come out trumped in her brand, cultural peculiarity, soccer status, technological proliferation and the spirit of co-existence.

Below, I will regale you, my co-steemians, a montage of pictures which I took during my leisure time after the conference. South Africa is a beautiful place with unique topography and demography. South Africa is becoming the epicenter of Africa continent in its bid to be better in all its endeavours. Here are the pictures I took at @capetown in @southafrica-

IMAG0134.jpg
IMAG0125.jpg

My fascination with South Africa is the loving co-habitation with animals. I found it mesmerizing seeing people in jolly moment with squirrels and pigeons without harm or violence. As an aside, squirrels and pigeons are veritable staple foods for Nigerians such that it will be difficult to see any around. But, the ambience, skyline, recreational environment has made the experience indelible in my heart.
IMAG0100.jpg
IMAG0097.jpg
IMAG0124.jpg
This is the beautiful scenery of Cape Town from the Mountain Top
I will surely be there again soonest. South Africa has been a wonderful experience for me. Thank you South Africa for those beautiful and wonderful environs and the hospitable atmosphere afforded me. I am coming back, you can bet on it.
@southafrica, a land of bliss, a land of happiness.
IMAG0154.jpg


Thank you for stopping by to read my post. I remain my humble self, @jchariot. Clement Ogunkunle, PhD.
Sort:  

Obviously you had fun. Enjoy

I am happy this space is getting filled with amazing people. Steem on!

From the pictures, its obvious you enjoyed your stay. The pictures are really nice.
Welcome back home

Your post has been selected to be entered into @teamsouthafrica's Daily Nominated Post section in Teamsouthafrica's Discord group. Congratulations!

#teamsouthafrica
https://discord.gg/9KVccPH Come Connect.

@fates!!!! Its nice to hear that good news. Thanks a bundle

You summed us up pretty neatly @jchariot it is pure love of our land and people that has got us through very difficult times.

Now to look forward and build the way Madiba planned.

Right joanstewart; Madiba is indeed a great man of Africa and this epitomized the struggle then.
IMAG0093.jpg

I would like to ask if there is still a Plaque up in Seapoint saying A.W.G. Bibb was born here?

No, sorry to my knowledge Just Nuisance took it and ran away with it 😊

Just Nuisance was the only dog ever to be officially enlisted in the Royal Navy. He was a Great Dane who between 1939 and 1944 served at HMS Afrikander, a Royal Navy shore establishment in Simon's Town, South Africa.

Sorry could not resist the above, did a search and came up with an older post with some awesome music, sound engineer, old Bohemian.... sound familiar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42