Ho Chi Minh - The Vibrance of Vietnam

in #travel6 years ago

Ho Chi Minh City, as many folks ( myself included ) have come to call Saigon is the business and financial hub of the country combined with a dizzying; highly driven; pulsating energy that never fails to captivate the many travellers passing through here.

Named after Ho Chi Minh, the widely recognised founding father and the man who unified the current Vietnam as we all know, affectionately known by the locals as Uncle Ho.

A very busy city home to approximately 8 million scooters ( YES! 8 Million and still counting! ) yet contains so much culture, history and vibrancy for the history buff in me.

I was in Vietnam for a month and here for a week in April 2018, and many fellow travellers, even my friends thought I was mad for staying here so long as the typical days someone stays here is about 3 days.

Well, to me, other than the famous Cu Ci tunnels, Mekong Delta etc, there are a lot of other things definitely worth exploring here! There are temples dating back a few hundred years old, with some of their original artefacts intact and on display. The museums have so much wealth of knowledge that any one you pick to go, will definitely blow you away.

The one major museum that totally changed my perspective of the country, opened my mind to new ways of processing thoughts was the War Remnants Museum. Believe me when I say, that I teared up during my visit here.

I’m not going to spoil the fun like most travel bloggers do by telling you what and where to go. You got to do your own homework somehow eh? Just follow the clues in the captions of the pictures, ( I can’t show you everything so I’m just uploading a few. ) Do some simple google search, Map search and you’ll find a lot of hidden gems popping up in the surroundings missed out by the typical tourist!

HINT: I’ve been travelling for 3 months now and the favourite mobile app I’m using is called Maps.Me. Try it!

FB_IMG_1527416120700.jpg
Vietnam coffee is definitely one of the best coffees I've tried, together with people watching became one of my favourite past times in this country.

IMG_20180409_162210.jpg
One of the two guillotines previously in use in the country, one of it is on display at the War Remnants Museum in Saigon, the other... well, up to you to find out!

IMG_20180410_091237.jpg
Always believed that when we travel, we should do and eat like the locals! Some Pho to start the day, at only 20,000 VND, you never run out of food choices.

IMG_20180410_113226.jpg
2 of the most awesome Swedish travellers I've met along the way!

IMG_20180411_105324.jpg
Something many miss out when they visit the Post Office, a map on the wall detailing the city of Saigon in 1892.

IMG_20180411_111627.jpg
A entourage for a wedding couple's photoshoot outside the Post Office; a common sight !

IMG_20180415_084430.jpg
Propoganda posters. One phrase that really made me think after visiting the museums and learning so much of the country. "Is democracy really democracy? Or is it just a way of anti-communism?" No arguments here, just a food for thought.

CYMERA_20180527_172108.jpg
Well, was on a night bus to another city and was woken up by this gentleman, which with no doubt gave me a startle on first sight! hahahah!

Till the next post, i'll talk about another amazing part of Vietnam in this series.

Sort:  

nice meeting you jason, I've been in Ho Chi Minh last 2006, it's a nice place and during that time multi-national companies are starting to popped-up like mushrooms

Hello! Oh yes, 12 years on, it's grown even busier and I believe its a total different city from your last visit. You should go again when you have the chance, never know what suprises you might find on a new trip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49