Hawaii. Please Take Me Back There....Like 5 Days Ago Please! Big Island, Kaui & Maui pictures

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

It's a raging snow blizzard outside, power in the studio is out, electricity company trucks swarming the area and I'm off coffee cause I'm giving my tummy an alkaline treat. Total shitshow.

! Mana!.jpg
Met this amazing tree on the Pipiwai trail on the way up to Bamboo forest, eastern part of Maui. Nobody around, total heaven!

On top of that @gladysmak is landing from Hong Kong as I type this and I gotta bust my ass to go pick her up, which won't be easy in this traffic. The poor thing just got out of warm Asian spring to the most ridiculous snowfall I seen in Vancouver this year. Gotta spoil her today with something nice.

Oh well, I don't think there's a better day than today to throw in some Hawaii pictures and go daydreaming. My teleporting machine is out too, otherwise I'd be already chilling on Baldwin beach sipping on cold beer watching the turtles float between the stones, as they always do there.

! Mana3.jpg
This one is from Kaui, random waterfall little bit off the Napali coast trail

I visited Hawaii 3-4 times, can't remember, it was that good that it all blends together. My favorite islands are Big Island (Kona), Kauai (Lihue) and Maui (Kahului). I only spent 2 days in Oahu (Honolulu) and I can't quite understand why every second American chooses to go there rather than the other way more beautiful islands. Honolulu has traffic jams and over populated beaches.

To give you an idea: 1,5 million people live on Oahu while only 150k on Maui. And only 65k on Kauai. That alone should give you an idea which island will be an experience of paradise.

map_of_hawaii.jpg
all_islands.jpg

I love Maui and Kauai the most, but Big Island (AKA Hawaii island) has crazy amazing spots too, have not explored half of them, but access to the beaches is generally harder, often over an uneven lava field roads. Bad ass waterfalls tho, but that is on every single island on Hawaiian archipelago.

Kauai is called "Garden island" for a reason. It has the most beaches of all islands and the road does not go all the way around, it's cut in horse shoe shape by breathtaking Napali coast rocks. That alone slows down the already mild traffic on this island significantly. You gotta do the Napali coast hike if you go! And make sure to watch the documentary "Taylor camp", from seventies. It will teach you a lot about that island and that era in general. Some people from that documentary still live on the island and are quite famous now :)

! hanes trail detail.jpg
Hiking the famous Napali coast at Kauai! What an amazing 2 days. Not for physically unfit though...

Maui is prolly my favorite island. It is bigger than Kauai and has tons of places to explore and lovely beaches, including the Hawaii's only nudist beach (Little Beach off the Makena beach), which is a really cool spot. It has more infrastructure than Kauai but still has plenty of wild spots and very calm nature areas where you will not see that many people. The island looks like an 8 shape the middle of the eastern part is where we stayed with @gladysmak. The village is called Makawao and it's crazy lovely with tons of galleries and cute coffee shops. Our gay friends live there and we stay with them, amazing couple. So we feel pretty lucky. We're definitely coming back this year! Another amazing spot on Maui is the area around Hana (eastern tip) and Paia, where we go pretty much every day to hang out with Turtles at Baldwin beach. Mana foods in Paia- yummmmmmy food!

map-thumb.jpg
The (in)famous road to Hana! Once you drive it you will understand why they sell the stickers "I survived the road to Hana" in every local store :D

Now let's get rolling with some more pictures!

:)
! Mana 0.jpg
..was a rainy day around Hana. Random forest waterfall...
! last days 6.jpg
the monkey genes in me could not resist...
! janny waylon farm 2.jpg
with my yoga teacher Waylon Belding (best in the world!) on his retreat in a hidden eco-farm on Big Island. Love this man! And a rare picture of me with 1 week unshaved face :)
IMG_5406.JPG
Yogis on the tree. Big island. Forgot the beach name but waves were baaaaad aaaaass:)
1 big island.jpg
Typical Big Island beach (volcanic). Raw power of nature, falling in love!!
! janny glady absalon maui.jpg
Me with @gladysmak and Absalon -my best gay friend ever. Him and his husband Eric are hosting us in Makawao, on "baby beach" (northern part of Baldwin beach)

! janny glady maui colors.jpg
Mandatory picture with my princess on Baldwin beach park (Maui, right next to Paia)

I think this is enough to get you on the airplane to Hawaii now. I wanted to post more pictures with @gladysmak (not just my boring poses:), we took some great ones together, but I can't seem to find the folder! I hope it's not lost, these were gems. Oh well, when I find it then I'll have a good reason to make another post about Hawaii. One is definitely not enough!

Hope your day is not as snowy as ours!

Thank you for reading, upvoting, commenting and resteeming!

Much Love to all!

Jan
Follow @jankasparec

Early morning in Hana. And a teaser for the fundraiser exhibition of my art I was doing back then. Plumeria trees are all over, they smell super nice and the flowers are used in the famous Hawaiian Lei (flower necklace).

! fundraiser 1.jpg

Me and Gertruda go way back. It's good to get up early for sunset and hang out with her!
001.JPG

At Kihei beach, most famous beach in Maui. Summer weeeeen???? Not soon enough!
! beach bun.jpg

Sort:  

When the plane landed,I couldn't believe my eyes - YVR airport is white and full of snow. That moment I was thinking like oh my again?! I left to HK three days ago and the snow here was melting but after three days it snows again:P It's quite pretty though. Still hoping summer comes asap Lol

WE'll enjoy the snow as much as we can without too much bitching and lots of hot drinks, then enjoy the summer to the max with lots of cold beers :)

Yeah! It's a good plan :)

Ah, this is the perfect way to get over the snowy gloomy days! Well done! I loved going on the Napali coast boat tour with @corinnestokes. It was amazing. I hope to get back there some day. I've also been to Oahu when I was a teenager and I remember surfing there (even stepped on a sea urchin which was no fun).

Have fun hanging with @gladysmak. If you have a fireplace, snuggle up, drink some wine and watch a movie together on your phone or something. I hope you get studio power back soon. Until then, relax, and enjoy being.

Will do bro! Working on it, seems like she’s hungry after the long flight 😁FA83DF48-2E0E-44BD-A0FB-725AF272B684.jpeg

Heck yeah! That’s what I’m talking about. That looks super delicious.

Yup. Believe it or not that supersized Pho and the beef stew with rice was $10CAD (8usd?) each. Vancouver food makes up for the weather! :)

I have always wanted to go Jan. My Brother lived there for 5 years and loved it.

Soon we'll just be traveling and enjoying life Randy, I'm sure you will go soon!

Hehehehehe. I smell Happines and joy around this post. I remember how you were that day when she took that flight to the other side of the globe. I wish you guys a beautiful day together again. And man you sure know where to pick to have fun.

Doing my best :)

wow what an amazing place, you must enjoyed time there hope i can be there someday, the walterfall look really amazing, have a great time.

It's a magic place. Great photographs.

Amazing photography thanks for sharing...

One day I will visit Hawaii. Thanks for sharing your photos and story. @journeyfreedom

Nice photography, I like your style fotografie.

hello nice vacation and excellent photos. I would love to know those beautiful landscapes..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97