Australia- Kakadu National Park. Crocodiles, Spiders & Snakes. One of The Loveliest Spots On Earth I Visited

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Today I got a little gem for you. I finally recovered my hard drive with my first 2008-2010 worldtrip pictures on it, so you guys have lots of traveling inspiration in the store from me. And I'll begin with a heavyweight fighter, right up the alley of champs- the tropical part of Northern Australia- Kakadu National Park.

1 !.jpg
one of those unforgettable sunsets in the vast wild lands of Northern Australia...

I spent 6 months in Australia and I traveled it around 2 times. I actually did some pretty crazy stuff, such as hitch hiking from Perth to Darwin (see below map to get a better idea of the distance).

map.jpg

It took me a week, whole bunch of crazy rides with awesome people (and few weirdos) and I slept in the outback alone at night, then walked to the road and performed my special "happy hitch ride dance" to get picked up more easily. Some locals told me later that they wonder how I survived in the areas of outback that I passed and slept in, because they are literally infested by the most poisonous snakes and spiders.

Oh well, sometimes it's better not to know so you don't worry too much , right?

When I finally made it to Darwin, I connected with two backpackers - a German dude and a Swiss girl - and we rented a van together to explore the Kakadu National Park together.

It was truly amazing, and I think that the pictures will tell you the story the best. This is only part one, I will post more of Kakadu pictures, because this places deserves it!

1 a.jpg

Finally rolling inside the park, night is coming fast!

1 b.jpg

Those Ozzie skies...

1 c.jpg
1 d.jpg

First warm welcome as we look for parking spot where to spend the night- a huge python crossing the road, then getting into "attack" position. We gave him priority and drove off :)

1 e.jpg

1 f.jpg

Rock formations all around Australia are amazing. Me and Christian were playing bit of a Cliffhanger here:)

2 a.jpg

This is no joke. People get eaten here

2 e.jpg

The kind of habitat that crocs really like

3 b.jpg

Oh hello Mr Croc. Did you have your breakfast yet? :)

3 c.jpg

When floating on water, you can see it. But when lying in the grass without moving, you don't see it until it snaps, and that's typically too late... in all cases, on land you can walk away. In water you got zero chance. That thing can hear your heartbeat 1 mile away and it's 40times faster in reflexes than you. I didn't mean to frighten you, but please stay away from crocs :)

2 b.jpg

As I said- rock formations are wicked. Endless store of all sorts of shapes.

2 c.jpg

Passage to the lost world!

2 d.jpg

The hobbit gate

3 a.jpg

Spiders are everywhere. And some of them might not be good for your health. But hey, it's still 100 times worth the trip. Landscapes just open your heart!

In total we spend 3 nights in Kakadu and then headed to Yellow water and Twin Falls Gorge which I will show you next time.
Honestly I miss Northern Territories of Australia. From all of the land of Oz, it was my favorite (and surroundings of tropical Cairns...)

I hope you liked the pictures and the pets:)

Thank you for reading, upvoting, commenting and resteeming!
Much Love to all!

Jan
Follow @jankasparec

Our complete crew overlooking the amazing Kakadu just before the night came and we hide back in our van...
3 d.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, this looks awesome! And dangerous :D:D Where you never afraid?!?! Have to go there some day. Cheers.

When I went out at night to pee, I was thinking: good night snake, be a good boy to me :) Thanks Liz!

i love to see rock images. over here in Nothern Nigeria, we have lots of them and i'm amazed how come the have this beautiful arrangements. what thrills me the most is the way they are arranged. and what scares me the most is getting to climb them, i dont atttempt it at all.

great images @jankasparec

thanks for sharing

I climb anything I can. Especially rocks and bar stools :) Thanks for your comment @couragekebs001 !

I appreciate your post..actually you are great one in this steemit..
I am always follow your post..
Cause I like your post always..
And your every post is mind blowing ..
Thanks for sharing your valuable post..
My support will for your every .

Experiential travel is about presenting the customer with the surprise of the "unknown," the luxury of "unexpected choices" and the empowerment of "overcoming hurdles" (such as scaling a peak) so that he feels he has completed a "journey towards self-actualization."

Travel makes us happy, because it promises us the self-discovery needed to reach the pinnacle of Abraham Maslow's view of the human hierarchy of needs. Before him, Carl Jung called it individuation.

owo very beautifull travelng place dear @jan thanks for shareing your post
i really likt it
sir...

itsbeautifull

resteem

I feel really inspired by your post. I wish I could also travel and do some fun stuffs too

I just followed you. Please follow back... I'd love to visit your blog often

Looks like you had a nice trip down my way XD And yeh steer clear of the crocs, doesn't matter if they ate or not, they'll still eat you :O

goatsig

Hey bro is this you my Finnish brother? Yup crocs are not our friends :)

Nope I'm not Finnish, I just have an awkward collection of letters for a pseudonym :D

goatsig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71