A Most Enchanting Place: Photographic Tour And Review of "Hunte's Gardens" in Barbados

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

IMG_3285fdd3f.jpg

Hunte's Gardens is a recommended stop for any nature lovers visiting the island.

Today we took a drive up to St. Joseph to visit Hunte's Gardens for the first time. It's a bit shameful to admit that we've never been there before, even though my wife and I were born and raised on the island and lived here our entire lives. The secondary reason for the trip was that I wanted to take some photos of the flowers with my new macro lens. The place is quite nice, so I've decided to write here a quick review and include some of the photographs that I took while we were there.

If you're ever in Barbados, I recommend it.

IMG_317130351edff8b8.jpg
The entrance to the gardens

Hunte's Gardens: A Most Enchanting Place

The manicured forest of exotic plants, trees and bushes sits in a geological 'sink hole' in the parish of St. Joseph. Upon arriving at your destination you're greeted by a sign promising "the most enchanting place on earth", a pretty hard sell, I'd say. But the garden is exquisite, a most enchanting place if not the most, and maintained personally by the owner of the property Mr. Anthony Hunte. He lives in the former stables of the old Castle Grant Plantation which sits overlooking the garden. The entrance fee is just $15 USD per adult.

IMG_3223bc019ed31b1a.jpg
The view from above

IMG_3284da86c.jpg
Sunlight through the canopy

Following the winding pathways through unfolding ferns and velvet orchids buzzing with bees and butterflies you come across several European and Japanese style statues featuring what appear to be Greek gods, lions, devils and Buddhas. Several nooks with wrought iron and wooden chairs are scattered throughout the garden, making it an ideal spot for private picnics and teas.

IMG_324487fd5.jpg

IMG_325839aa4.jpg

IMG_326918b15.jpg

IMG_328144536.jpg
Lemonade & Ginger

After you have had your fill of the garden you can make your way up to the house for refreshments such as lemonade & ginger, or have a sample of Mr. Hunte's own rum line. Stay for bit and have a chat with Mr. Hunte and the other guests.

Here are some of my favourite shots from the day.

These were taken with natural lighting on a Canon SL1 with a 100mm 2.8f macro lens and lightly edited with Nik Colour Efex. Now that I have them all here next to each other, it's clear that I was drawn to the purple flowers!

IMG_278272c24.jpg

IMG_2824ed1ae.jpg

IMG_284229029.jpg

IMG_2854f6a05.jpg

IMG_2860cca3d.jpg

IMG_2870a9c17.jpg

IMG_28765c6c8.jpg

IMG_2789aebe9.jpg

IMG_27988d136.jpg


If you're ever in Barbados, let me know. Maybe I'll have some time to show you around a bit!!

If you enjoyed this, visit my page and click the follow button
Use SteemStats.com to view your follow list.

Sort:  

Hey, I really liked "sunlight through the canopy" - nice one!

Wow! Astonishing place, @jamtaylor! In India they say that where the palm trees - there's a paradise ;) When I'm in Barbados I will definitely be in this place! Thanks for positive mood!

Wow! Masterpieces of nature combined with man-made art. I caught a very vivid impression of contact with your photos. They are so naturally beautiful! Beauty touches the heart and resonates. Thanks for sharing a wonderful feeling!

Very nice pictures, @jamtaylor! I felt like I was there, the pictures were so vivid. Thanks for posting this!

Adorably! good post! Thank you jamtaylor!

Beautiful, simply beautiful. I can feel the serenity of the garden. And the vibrant life and growth at the same time.

Beautiful! Amazing pictures👌🏼💖

Beautiful photos, your piece really did capture the feeling of being taken on a tour. Excellent post! That lemonade sure did look tasty. ;)

That looks absolutely amazing! The plants are so beautiful and your photos are stunning. I especially like the one where the flowers look like red blueberries.. :D I wanna live in a place like that, it's almost always cold in Norway..

Thanks!

I'd love to visit Norway some time, and a break from this heat would be nice!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42