You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel Diary: DUBAI - The Full Experience

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Great article with food for thought.

I would love to hear your opinion on this topic, as it is a highly subjective matter. Even though I am a feminist (believe in equal rights for men and women) and I am a tourist from Germany visiting Dubai, I am also aware of and educated about the cultural differences, concerning women and women rights. I may not agree with rules, views and parts of the culture of a country, but certainly respect it.

I personally believe that the freedom of the individual is a precious good. So in general I have problems with strict dressing codes and similar restrictions. I respect it if a woman really want to dress traditionally, maybe with headscarf or even more mantling but she should never be forced to do that. Of course that is valid also in the reversed situation: I think Muslim women should have the right to dress traditionally also in western countries (that is part of the individual freedom as well to decide for oneself).
Another aspect which can be discussed controversial is the "respect" for the "culture" or "rules" of a country. Of course I understand the idea that as a guest one should not go anywhere and behave like a "bull in a china shop" ... But lets talk for example about a country like Iran: I know that many Iranian women really hate the strict dress code in their own country. Am I really doing them a favor if I "respect" the "rules" and the "culture" of their government which are not really the rules and the culture of the people? (At least not of the more modern part of the population which is really numerous in big cities like Tehran?)

Sort:  

Interesting point of view. Thanks for sharing!
I agree on the "freedom of the individual" and also that we don't actually know what/who we are supporting when "respecting" those kind of rules.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77