The Hotel Room

in #travel6 years ago

It's odd being alone in a hotel room. It's just me, a bed, a tv, some coffee, and a mini fridge. It's kind of like a great bit of alone time to think or meditate if you ignore the tv and your cell phone. Catching up on life planning, taking a hard look at myself and how I've been doing the past few months in all areas of life, meditating, and doing a bit of stretching is what I find myself doing on these lonely nights away from home. Plus video and phone calls to Karen, Mila, and Lola.

IMG_20180121_200452.jpg

Hotels give an odd sense of solitude, so my philosophy is find more out about myself. The walls are thin, I can hear every door on the floor open and shut, but I can unwind and take an hour long shower and the water always stays hot. I don't get to be at home cozy with my family, but I get to walk in the lush Pacific NW and drive all day instead of sitting at a desk.

IMG_20180121_141953.jpg

It's an alright change of pace, I can work out some of the things I've been struggling with. I can find a strange sense of ease here, it's noisy and boring, with cheap "modernized" furniture, but sometimes knowing that I have nowhere to go, no one to see, and just an empty room can help me relax and get some quality meditation and pondering in. It's a good time to get to know myself better.

Plus the Thai food here is much better than it is in MT.

So, is there anywhere kind of weird you find peace, or some strange place you find yourself meditating? Let me know in the comments below, and if you enjoyed this post don't forget to upvote, resteem, or follow.

Sort:  

I hate staying in motels on work trips, and i tend to waste time watching TV which I rarely do at home, and it doesn't allow me to work on my custom figurine hobby. Plus I never sleep well in motels.

ya, it can be pretty dull, better pick up meditating or bring a good book next time

I enjoy my room. It is my favorite place. Especially when no one is at home. Total bliss!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61054.53
ETH 2976.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65