You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PAPA TRAVELS - THE STACKED ROCK PILES AT CAVE POINT COUNTY PARK PHOTO SHOOT

in #travel7 years ago

Being from Indiana, I have heard about this spot before. However, I would really like to know some history behind the rock piling. I'm assuming this has to be man made, but I am curious why this started? Is there any historical signifcance behind the rock stacking or is just for sheer fun? Fantastic photos as usual. Being from the Midwest, but living in SE Asia, your posts are quite nostalgic for me. Thanks!

Sort:  

I know of several events recorded in the Bible where people stacked rocks as a way to remember an event, but how this started on this particular beach, I have no idea.

There was a really interesting video on one of the major TV stations last year that Ben's dad recorded just to show us about a man who had made almost a sport out of rock piling. It was after that I noticed there were rock piles starting to be made at our local beach (well, we don't really have sand beaches...our local rock collection along the lake is more accurate!). I wish I could remember which station and what show was featuring the man, but what sticks in my head is that it was a Sunday morning show and I'm almost sure it was on CBS. I should ask him if he remembers it when I next see him.

Thanks for the input. Super interesting. I will do some research on this particular spot and see what I can dig up. Now, Im curious ha!

If you do find out, you could even make a #til (today I learned) post and use some of my photos from the spot if you want. (This is steemit, so you might as well turn your research into a post.)

good idea man. I will most certianly do so. Great tip, and thanks for the kind gesture. I will tag you in the post once its up. Have a good one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67333.93
ETH 3115.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73