For the love of... Hangzhou

in #travel7 years ago

20170822_210055.jpg

I had a meeting to attend in Hangzhou China.

I had 2 nights prior to the meeting and I decided to book into a youth hostel to keep costs low.

The hostel has private rooms, dormitories and tent accommodation.

I really wanted to book tent accommodation but I was a little concerned about it. How clean would the amenities be and would the tents be in good condition.

So, I booked a private room.

The connecting flight from Xiamen to Hangzhou was delayed and I arrived into Hangzhou after midnight.

Catching a taxi is quite an event. Plenty of taxi hawkers trying to get your business. Quoting me 300 to 500 Yuan.

I said, "No! Where are the metre taxis?"
He stopped the sell, resigned to the fact I knew his game, and pointed me in the right direction.

Sidenote: A russian girl I met actually negotiated the taxi down to 50 Yuan - so I guess it depends how ballsy you want to be, and if there is daylight 😉
FYI.. Hangzhou airport to Hangzhou should cost 120 Yuan or thereabouts.

The taxi supervisor is a butchy lady who constantly yells at the taxi drivers, cajoling them into position. If she had a stick, she would lash them all repeatedly.

An hour long drive to the area of the, Citynest Hostel, and Google maps is off by 650metres. My taxi driver did a first class job to help me find it. I was contemplating walking around the streets for a few hours until daylight.

An interesting fact, as part of the Chinese visa, if you do not register with an approved accommodation within 24 hours, then you must report to a police station.

20170822_205727.jpg

The hostel was dark and I assumed all would be locked up. Wrong! The main blue door is never locked.
I walk into to the darkened reception/dining/lounge area and there is a guy sleeping on the floor and another on the lounge.

They wake upon my entry and I indicate that I am here to checkin. One of the guys, Git, gets up and upon checking, I do not exist! He wakes another guy, Olef, who in turn wakes up the lady owner.

It turns out that my room was booked out as I hadn't arrived. I express that I just need somewhere to lay my head. However, the only place available is, a tent! Yes, please! I am happy to do this.

In the 30 degree weather, I flopped down in the tent and enjoyed some sleep... I also stayed in the tent the next night. I enjoyed the feeling of "roughing it" and my sleep was great.

20170822_091432.jpg

The hostel was fantastic. The people working there and the other guests. I had a wonderful time.
20170822_094003.jpg

20170822_190116.jpg

IMG-20170822-WA0007.jpeg
(Git)

20170822_100244-EFFECTS.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46