Taking a Break in Butte, Montana

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

One of our stops on the way home was the Butte Chamber of Commerce and Visitor Information Center in Butte, Montana. Located just a few blocks north of the interstate via exit 126, and nestled along Blacktail Creek, this is an superb stopping point for anyone traveling through the area.

Visitor Info
credit

There is a nice paved trail along the creek if you need to stretch your legs with a walk. Additionally, at least at the time of my visit, the chamber office has a display on famous fly fishermen. There is also a restroom and a gift shop if you need either of those, too.

creek and big sky.jpg

dry fly display.jpg

Anyone looking for a new author to read might want to consider the works of Ivan Doig, since many of his books take place in this area.

Northwest of this stop is the butte for which the town is named, adorned with a gigantic letter 'M' by the Montana Tech college located on its flank.

butte montana tech.jpg

The scenery in this part of Montana is stellar. Not that this is unique among Montana locales, but the combination of distant mountains, nearby buttes, forests, plains, streams, city, country, and anything else one might want is enchanting. Unless you are looking for big-city glitz and glamor, this is a great place to be.

butte montana south.jpg

blue.jpg

yellow.jpg


SteemVerify

If you like this post, please comment, follow, and resteem!

Click here to help me counter bullies on Steemit!

Sort:  

I just had to look up Franz B. Pott and I'm glad I did. I had no idea that fishing lures used to be made from hair- and that Pott's skill in wig-making transferred to the crafting of fishing lures. Crazy! I will never need this information but it's pretty interesting history nonetheless. Great photos- resteemed!

Flies for fly fishing are still made with hair and other found materials.

Wow - for some reason that fascinates me- I would have thought that everything was synthetic by now. So cool! Great post ;)

"Unless you are looking for big-city glitz and glamor, this is a great place to be."

I could never live in Montana because of this, but it looks like it would be amazing to visit. the 3rd to last photo is a spot I'd like to see in person.

And I could never live in a big city. To each his own. :D

I took all these photos from the visitor center parking lot, all within perhaps a 100-foot radius.

Good information about Montana and the photos are excellent.

Nice share!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59096.52
ETH 2516.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46