My Trip to Fort George

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello Everyone!!

I know it's been a while since I have posted anything. I was going through some pictures today and decided to post about my trip to Fort George last year. To start things off I was having a terrible week. So the family and I decided to do a little local exploring. We headed off to Niagara on the Lake in Ontario. If you haven't been there before I highly recommend a trip! Niagara on the Lake is a beautiful victorian town with a lot of shops and there are also a lot of wineries in the area.

20170602_115413.jpg
Fort George, Niagara on the Lake

I wouldn't consider myself a history buff by any means, but the trip was a lot of fun. Growing up in Southern Ontario, you do tend to learn a lot about the war of 1812. I myself am from Hamilton and there are a few historic sites in my area such as Stoney Creek Battlefield. Fort George itself was attacked and destroyed by American Soldiers during the War of 1812. The powder magazine was the only building to have survived. However, the rest of the fort has been reconstructed to allow visitors to learn more about the history of the war.

20170602_125536.jpg

The Historical interpreters are dressed up in historically accurate attire. There are even musket demonstrations, so visitors are able to understand the weapons that were used during the war. When you enter each of the buildings, you are able to learn the stories of the people behind the war. It is truly eye-opening. What I found particularly beneficial was hour helpful the historical interpreters where. Whenever you went into one of the buildings, there they were, willing to answer any questions you may have.

20170602_120505.jpg

All in all it was a great trip out. If ever you find yourself in Niagara on the Lake, I highly recommend checking out Fort George. I don't think you will be disappointed (unless you loathe history). But even then, the views of the lake are amazing from inside the Fort.

That's it for now folks,

Jackie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60457.50
ETH 2430.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51