Riding The Great St Bernard Pass Switzerland on my motorcycle

in #travel7 years ago

Last year I decided I had to see the Alp moutain range in Summer time.
I really wanted to see those huge mountains covered in nice green grass and flowers.
This is a beautifull time of year to see this wonder of nature.
So I planned a four day trip on my motorcycle going from Amsterdam to Switzerland that is around 1000km to get there and

1000km to get back.

After checking google maps for a while I decided to go to the Great St Bernard Pass a mountain crossing, the most ancient

pass through the Western Alps at a hight of 2,469 m (8,100 ft)
I found there is an old hospice or monastery, the place where these famous St Bernard recue dogs originate, and it is used

as a hotel.
This was going to be the main destination of my motorcycle trip.

So the plan was to ride the highway from Amsterdam to Germany and get of the highway around Koblenz and follow the river

Rhine for a while for some great scenery and book a hotel somewhere along the river about 200km from the Swiss border.
This way I had the next day to enjoy riding into Switzerland.

After riding past Basel in Switzerland you can see the Alp moutain range rise up in the distance, an awsome view,

specially for a person from the flatlands like me.
When I was getting close to the Great St Bernard Pass at around 21:00 I took a wrong turn and my navigation system plotted

an alternate route.
But it guided me straight up some mountain where the pad was getting more and more narrow and when it started to look like

a foothpad I started to doubt this was the correct route.
Plus the rain was coming really hard riding up this mountain, I was riding straight into a cloud.
It was hard work riding here but it was a beautifull experience.
I recorded this part of the ride so you can see for yourself.

After asking some locals I found the correct road again and soon I was riding up the actual Great St Bernard Pass which

was covered in some thick mist, I could only see for about 15 meters ahead.
But I just arived at the Hospice Hotel on time to get in a nice warm meal.

The third day I had planned for some free roaming rides in the Alps.
In the afternoon I decided to cross the Great St Bernard Pass into Italy to find the Matterhorn mountain.
This ride over the Pass into Italy is trully epic, what an amazing scenery.
I believe this road was featured in quite some films over the years like James Bond.
Have a look for yourself.

The next day I decided to head home and did the 1000km back in one swoop.
That was quite hard but it was such a great adventure that I would do it again.
I got lot's more video from this trip but I will publish them in an other post.

I would love to get your feedback on this trip and video's

Thanks for reading if you came this far, Jaamaan123

Sort:  

Couple days ago i was in Slovakia Tatry . Very good feeling riding around the mountais :)

This trip was my first time in the mountains and I love it. It would be great to try the mountains in Slovakia to :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59391.37
ETH 2525.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47