Safety precautions to take when lodging in a hotel

in #travel7 years ago

During my career as a cabin crew we lodged at different hotels depending on location. With time I discovered certain things about lodging in an hotel.

Always use the lock or bolt at the back of your room door. Don't rely on just the jam lock. What I mean is when you use your card to enter your room make sure you use the lock or bolt at the back of the door. Why? I had this weird experience on one of the days I lodged. At around midnight someone came to my room trying to enter but couldn't because I had locked it from the back, then I shouted asking why he was trying to enter my room he said he was a new guest and the card given to him was my room number I immediately called the reception to ask why my room was given to someone else they couldn't acknowledge that they just lodged in a new guest. So I immediately knew it was either a thief or a rapist so I went to the door I threatened to alert the whole hotel by screaming if he didn't leave. He left. I definitely took it up with the hotel and this was a 5 star hotel.

Ask for change of bed sheets. Most times the sheets are never changed after a guest leaves. How do I know? I have seen stains and dirt on sheets that I end up asking for a change in sheets.

If you are stepping out of your room or going for breakfast take all your valuables with you. The staff have a mastercard that can allow them enter your room at any time even if you put a 'do not disturb' on your door. They can also open the safe where you are asked to place your valuables.

You can definitely enjoy your stay in any hotel but don't lose focus while you are there. Protect yourself and your belongings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54