Japan Travel Journal Vol. 1 - New Things I Noticed While In Japan

in #travel7 years ago

It's been a month since i came back from Japan. I was pretty fortunate as I went without knowing that it was actually the start of the rainy season but the week itself was sunshine paradise and at times chilly. So if you're thinking about visiting Japan during summer, i'd suggest you visit somewhere between end of July till Mid August when the rainy season is over. The good part about that is that there will be a lot of summer festivals during those times but it can get pretty hot and humid.


My last trip was 3 years ago during early winter so it's definitely been quite some time. Even at the airport it took me a while to remember how to get to certain places. On my rather short trip of 8 days, i did manage to cramp some interesting things and visit some of the outskirt destinations which i'll share in the next few posts. During my time there however, there were few things i noticed from my last visit.


Things I've Noticed 


1. Tourists, tourists, tourists



On this trip i noticed that there were alot more tourists than before (me included). It's only natural that Japan has been wanting to draw more tourists into their country since they've been facing an ageing population problem to help their economy. It was a good thing it wasn't crowded but it'll be packed once the festivals start.


2. More English 



In order to make their cities more tourist friendly, they've since put up more signage in English. If you're thinking about visiting Japan without knowing how to speak Japanese, there's really nothing to worry about. The train signboards now have English readings of the station names and when it comes to food, you can spot most of the restaurants near tourist hotspots carrying this sign outside saying : 'English menu available'


3. Japanese speaking English


More Japanese seems to be able to speak English than before. I've had this encounter a few times especially at stores and restaurants. I'd speak in my limited Japanese and they'll reply back in English. Although not perfect, at least you will be able to communicate so shopping will be relatively easy. 


4. Glorious Food!



For a country that takes pride in everything they do, you can expect great food almost everywhere. During my time there i was rarely disappointed by their food regardless of where i went. I'd simply walk around and if i spot anything interesting or delicious, i'd walk right in. I've never been happier eating like this!



Of course these are my own experiences during my trip and if you've had similar encounters, do share cause i'd love to hear about it. I'll be continuing my journal updates of my trip in the coming weeks and if you like this post, do give an upvote! 


Cheers!

(All photos by me)

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing, I'm looking forward to your next posts on japan. I definitely want to visit japan again. The first time I went had to been nearly 7 years ago. My mum and I were so unprepared that the trip flew by without getting to really see everything we wanted to see :P

That's a really long time ago. I realized that it's best to plan the trip or at least have an idea where and what you want to see. This trip i was kind of winging it but i realized i wasted a lot of time haha. So do plan well on your next trip!

Great post! I went to Tokyo in July - I think I will do March in Osaka and Kyoto next for the Cherry Blossom. I really enjoy the hospitality of Japanese people when I was there, they made an effort to help even that they speak very little English.

Thanks! How was it in July? Was it during the rainy season? Kyoto would be a great place for Cherry Blossom and definitely try somewhere outside of the city. There's so much beauty around and i'll talk about one of those places i got to know soon.

I think their hospitality is one of the best thing about the Japanese.

I'm sold :) Definitely on my bucket list

Can't go wrong with Japan!

We went Japan two months ago, I would love to go there again in winter or autumn 🍂

Those are my favourite season to visit. If you're there in winter, look out for some festivals and illumination spots around town.

Congratulations @ivanccc! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52