Elephant Jungle Sanctuary 🐘

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1514617090629.jpg

One of the things I really wanted to experience during my time in Thailand was going to an elephant sanctuary to spend some time with the beautiful elephants 😍🐘

When looking for an ethical sanctuary that treats the elephants well I came across a sanctuary called "Elephant Jungle Sanctuary". I went to there sanctuary in Chiang Mai but I believe they also have another in Phuket.

I'll provide a link to the Elephant Jungle Sanctuary
website here to provide you all with additional information. They offer a number of different tour's ranging from a half day, full day and a volunteer program lasting multiple days all of which range in price accordingly. I chose to do the full day tour and I'd highly recommend it but I'm sure the volunteer programs would be incredible 😍

Anyway to start the day off we got picked up by a Jeep early in the morning that drove us outside of central Chiang Mai and into the forests surrounding the city which house the elephants. On the way we saw a number of elephants that belong to other tour companies and locals being used for riding which wasn't great to see but reinforced why we chosen to go with the Elephant Jungle Sanctuary tour company instead.

Upon arrival we met our guide for the day and we all sat down for a discussion on what the sanctuary does and all of the relevant information related to the elephants including how much it costs to look after an elephant ! It was explained to us what we would be doing on the tour and a rough outline of the full day tour would consist of this feeding the elephants, walking with the elephants, mud bath, fresh water bath and making the elephants the medicine that they need to stay fit and healthy. We also got a buffet lunch provided and if you know me that makes me a very happy guy 😂

After we had completed the whole day with the elephants nobody wanted to leave we all had an amazing time and I'd really recommend you book your elephant experience with a reputable company ! We also got to keep the jumper that we are wearing in the photos below which is a really nice touch from the company !

If you want to watch a video from a fellow traveler about how elephants are being treated and how you should not support the riding of elephants here's the link to a video by Christian Leblanc that I'd highly recommend watching ! Tell him I sent you ♥️

I also recorded two highlight videos from the elephant jungle sanctuary which you can watch here and here 😊

Here's a few of my favourite pictures from my time with the elephants if you have any questions feel free to post them below.

FB_IMG_1514616528128.jpg

FB_IMG_1514616548026.jpg

FB_IMG_1514616563800.jpg

FB_IMG_1514616640261.jpg

FB_IMG_1514616714237.jpg

FB_IMG_1514616774095.jpg

FB_IMG_1514616812503.jpg

FB_IMG_1514616823224.jpg

FB_IMG_1514616892080.jpg

FB_IMG_1514616907808.jpg

FB_IMG_1514616969029.jpg

FB_IMG_1514616988214.jpg

FB_IMG_1514617085755.jpg

FB_IMG_1514617090629.jpg

Here's some useful links 🐘
https://www.elephantjunglesanctuary.com/
https://www.elephantnaturepark.org

And here's the links to Christian Leblanc's social media's so you can all check him out and hopefully he'll be on Steemit soon.

Christian's YouTube

Christian's Instagram

Thanks for reading please upvote, comment and share so we can spread this information about elephants ♥️🐘

If you enjoyed this post then please remember to follow me

Popular posts:
Merry Christmas from Vietnam

You can also find me on:
Instagram
And
Twitter

Sort:  

Thank you so much for this amazing post Ben. I also thank you for sharing the video revealing the heartbreaking truth behind the elephant tourism industry. I have seen a few of them before and have been discouraging people from supporting this appalling industry. I havent been to SE Asia yet but I believe these sanctuaries are a great place for people who want to interact with elephants without hurting them. I am sure you enjoyed that experience :) Steem on and Happy New Year my friend. (sorry my vote is currently worth just 4 cents...)

You'll definitely have to visit a sanctuary some time 🐘

My vote is worth even less 😂 thank you

Looks amazing ! I would love to do this one day. Great that you have also highlighted about going to an elephant sanctuary that care about the welfare of the elephants :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @itsben to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hey!

I was looking through your blog and stumbled upon this. Weve been wanting to do this specially now that we have a toddler. Me and my husband @starthere were delighted to see that you guys had a great time. Now you convince me to really put this high on our list on a next long weekend that we have.

You and your toddler will love it !! Glad you found this post !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79