How I travel for a living - My job

in #travel6 years ago

PSX_20171119_165743.jpg

Namaste Steemit community! This is my first blog on Steemit (apart from introduction post of course) and I would like to share with you guys about the very interesting job that I am doing. I am working as a trek leader for one of the fastest growing adventure company in India called DarkGreen Adventures (DGA)

PSX_20171218_093257.jpg

I did graduated from engineering college two years ago with three job offers from the topmost airlines in India but I rejected them all. I was so in love with mountaineering, outdoors, nature and the kind of life it offered that I could not imagine myself stuck in a 9 to 5 job in the clutches of the city. In my second year of engineering, I came across a friend who had just started his own trekking company and during the same time I had started figuring out what I wanted to do with my life after engineering. I asked him if I could start coming on his treks as a coordinator. I didn’t even want to be paid, I just wanted to trek and find my way in this industry. I went to my first trek as the back leader and I enjoyed it so much. I was always a very introvert person but when I was in the mountains with the group, I realized I turn into an engaging personality because I am having utmost fun myself.

PSX_20171218_144021.jpg

After a few weekend treks with DGA, I was promoted to a trek leader which meant I could lead treks on my own and in my way. I started organizing treks in Sahyadri mountain range weekend after weekend and I started falling in love with my work so much.

PSX_20171203_210506.jpg

PSX_20170830_184121.jpg

My job was to travel with 30 new and awesome people every weekend and I had weekdays to myself with practically no burden except a few back end work that goes behind organizing a trek. How much better could a job get, right?

PSX_20171120_091615.jpg

It is so satisfying to lead people week after week, from all walks of life and see them forget everything and have a blast amidst the mountains and nature. I consider myself lucky that I get to do that. Over the years I have heard so many stories from my participants on how trekking and outdoors changed their lives and I feel privileged enough to be able to give them this experience.

PSX_20171106_172216.jpg

Your work should not feel like work, that's when the fun begins!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97