ONE OF THE OLDEST CHURCH IN THE PHILIPPINES! TRAVEL GUIDE...

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Paoay Church is famous for being tranquil and vintage. You'll truly enjoy this picturesque moment. The Saint Augustine Church often called as Paoay church is located in the heart of municipality of Paoay, Ilocos Norte in the Philippines. From Manila which is the capital city of the Philippines, it takes approximately 8-10 hours by bus or 6-7 hours if you rent a private car.

It was my first solo travel happened to be my birthday gift for myself. There were so many things I've learned during this trip like how to maximize your patience, how to be more firm and confident on making decisions own your own, prioritize what really matters, understand different perspectives and love for yourself. Anyways, I'll just write a separate blog on my insights and learnings from my life experiences.

Paoay church is the Philippines' primary example of a Spanish colonial earthquake baroque architecture dubbed by Alicia Coseteng, Its walls are made of large coral stones on the lower part and bricks at the upper levels. Adjacent to the facade is a three-storey coral bell tower constructed separately from the church building on the right side resembling a pagoda. It was in 1793 when the cornerstone of the bell tower was laid.

The stone facade appear as massive pediment rising from the ground and is built leaning towards the front. Square pilasters and stringed cornices divide the facade vertically and horizontally respectively. Its bottom part is plain. Gothic features are also present through the use of finials while the triangular pediment shows Chinese elements and Oriental strokes.

There are also nearby souvenir shops in the area. You may wanna try their "chichacorn" it's like Pork cracklings but made of corns.

Before the day ends, of course one thing you shouldn't miss in the municipality of Paoay is their own version of "Empanada' it's a is a stuffed bread or pastry baked or fried made by folding dough over a stuffing, which may consist of meat, cheese, huitlacoche, or other ingredients.

That's how I spent my day in Paoay, Ilocos Norte Philippines.
Also see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paoay_Church for more descriptions.
Since I love to meet people and learn different culture so I am more than glad to entertain your questions and comments on my posts. My principle in life is just do whatver makes you happy. You only live once why not just make things happen then? I hope to see you guys on the comments so that I'll be aware of the people whom I need thank to. Just keep calm and read my blogs.

For inquiries please feel free to email: mickey.diezz@gmail. I'll be more than glad to interact with you.

Sort:  

pagbutang picture nimo jan :D

ESta genial

Thank you for your interest. I appreciate it. Feel free to follow for more interesting post :)

Massive church! Reminds me a bit the Duomo in Milan.

Thanks for giving to my blog. Please fee to follow for more interesting post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50