Top ten things to know before you travel to Singapore. Travel post #1

in #travel7 years ago

DEATH PENALTY FOR IMPORTING DRUGS!
I just got back from Singapore, and while I was there I discovered some interesting things one should know before visiting this great destination. I have listed the top 10 things you should know before traveling to Singapore below the photos.



The three towered Marina Bay Sands. For drinks check out the Sky 57 Bar, you don't have to be a guest to go to the bar. And the views are amazing. The pool is reserved for guests only though. So much to say about this place that i will have to do a post on it specifically. It is amazing. One of the worlds top 3 most expensive buildings.









Green buildings are all over the city, but these were some of the coolest ones I saw. If your leaving the metro at the Chinatown stop, head one block in the opposite direction of Chinatown and you will find them. You can actually see them from the station if you look hard enough.



Fast food cashiers in the U.S. are fighting for a $15.00hr minimum wage, well Singapore has an answer for that!



Meet my server, Suzie!



$13.00SGD a pack, around $10.00USD



One of the photos I took of the Subway, hope they don't send me a fine!





Another subway picture, oops! They have some of the cleanest public transportation I have ever seen. Its also the easiest to use, and inexpensive. If your going to use the Subway I suggest getting a 3 day tourist pass for $20SGD. It is well worth it and you can get just about anywhere on the train.





Photo of Marina Bay Sands while standing in the center of Marina bay Gardens. Check out the free light show at Marina bay gardens. Just google for times.







Top ten things to know before you travel to Singapore

  1. When my flight was landing I thought I might have been tired and heard this wrong, but after a quick google search Wikipedia confirmed that indeed I had heard correctly. Importing, exporting , or possession of certain quantities of drugs is punishable by DEATH! THAT'S RIGHT CAPITAL PUNISHMENT FOR DRUG SMUGGLING. I'm guessing this is one of the reasons they have a low crime rate, if you screw up here they'll kill ya. Example: 15 grams of Heroin. 30 or more grams of cocaine and your done. 500 grams of Cannabis (about a half kilo). 250 grams of Methamphetamine.

  2. Leave your chewing gum at home. They have strict laws against importing gum, selling gum, and severe fines for improper disposal of gum. The first offense of selling gum can come with a fine as high as $100,000.00 and two years in jail. I'm not sure if the act of chewing gum is necessarily illegal, but if they are willing to put you in jail for selling it your better off leaving it at home. I don't know what to tell people who chew nicotine gum, guess you'll have to get the patch or an E-cigarette.

  3. Do not spit in public. Spitting in public will get you up to a $1,000.00 fine, and they do actually enforce this law! One of the locals I was hanging out with said he has know several people to get tickets over the years.

  4. Do not use other peoples WiFi. This one I am actually guilty of, but thank goodness I did my research before going to Singapore. If you are caught logging on to another users WiFi without permission you can be fined up to $10,000.00 and get a 3 year jail sentence along with it. That's no Joke!

  5. Cigarettes, and Alcohol are heavily taxed. "SIN TAX" Singapore has high excise taxes on beer, wine, liquor, and tobacco products. The average cost of a beer is around $13.00 SGD, cigarettes cost about the same for a pack .. around $13.00 SGD. Good time to quit if your a smoker! I learned about these costs quickly, I went to a bar to start the night off.. It was just a local place nothing special, but after 4 very weak drinks I asked for the check. It was over $80. Far cry from the normal $15-25 I am used to in most other southeast Asian countries. I was just drinking well rum, and coke, no top shelf. So if you like your weekends on the town drinking, plan on spending a bit more than most other places in southeast Asia. The best tip I can give is to find a good Happy hour to start your night off.

  6. Flush the toilet! Okay, no one should have to tell you to flush the toilet. But of course there are people who don't do it, and that is why Singapore has a law against it. If your caught not flushing the toilet in a public place you can be fined up to $150, not as bad as some of the others, but it may be embarrassing. WATCH OUT FOR THE TOILET PATROL!

  7. Same sex relations. If you are caught having same sex relations in Singapore it is punishable with a two year prison term. I am not sure how one would get caught, but it is something to keep in mind if this is your lifestyle.

  8. Do not Jaywalk. I noticed that everyone in Singapore waited patiently for these long crossing lights at every street. I just waited until there were no cars and then crossed the street. One time I was crossing the street and I noticed a guy looking at me like I was crazy, when i got to the other side where he was standing he said "you know that's illegal"? What? So yes, Jaywalking is illegal, luckily I found out before I got a ticket or ended up in jail. It is punishable by up to $1,000 fine for the first offense or 3 months in jail. That would really screw up your vacation if you end up in jail for crossing the street wrong!

  9. Do not take pictures on the metro. I actually did this several times, and saw a few other people do it as well. Apparently there is a law banning eating, drinking, or taking photos on the metro. I'm also guilty of drinking water on the metro, I was wondering why everyone kept looking at me? I'm sure there were other reasons as well? Don't embarrass yourself and get a $500.00 fine for drinking, eating, or taking a selfie on the metro!

  10. Do not play with your chopsticks. This one is not illegal, but is looked at as very disrespectful. The locals find it very annoying and rude. They may even say something to you if they see you playing with your chopsticks. So be respectful, and eat politely.



Next time I post about Singapore I will discuss the top places to visit, and things to do. If you enjoyed this post please follow me, resteem, or post a response below.

Sort:  

Wow these fines are ridiculous O_O

But I'm astonished by the green buildings. They look like straight out of some scifi book.
And the metro!!! The floor looks like you could eat from it.

Looking forward to the post about the marina sands.

I was so impressed with how clean the entire city was. I can't imagine being on vacation or traveling there for business and getting hit with one of these fines unknowingly. Thanks for checking out the post!

Congratulations @intreprenuer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Really informative post! Quite a contrast compared to China.

Thanks eitsky! Like night and day.

A really nice post. I was in Singapore too. You should do some researches about how much it costs you to get a driver licence

Thank you! Were you there for business? WOW...$2k for a drivers license, guess I will be taking the metro for a long time. Its not just the license, but it looks like you have to jump through a bunch of hopes to get it as well.

Oh no just travelling..but yeah..it is expensive

My goodness ! that's an eye opener indeed ! Mind you I agree with some of their laws, but find their punishments rather harsh, not very nice if you were visiting as a tourist and inadvertently crossed one of their red lines. Well the drug one is over the top for sure ...it all creates a "perfect'' environment ...of fear !

I agree with most of their laws as well, the punishments are harsh but seem to be working!

Good and helpful post. Honestly I don't intend to play with my chop sticks it just looks that way,

Congratulations @intreprenuer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15