Steemit vacation home exchangesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

I couldn't think of a better place to suggest this idea than to the members of the Steemit community. I am fortunate enough to have access to my fathers apartment in Recife Brazil. He also has granted me the option to let other people use it when he isn't there. Since he only uses it from around December to March, it sits empty most of the rest of the year. My wife and I love to travel and last we were there was the World Cup, which was a once in a lifetime experience. I had been three times prior, before I had even met my wife. Every time was different than the last and each trip left me wanting to go back. The people are super friendly, it is fairly inexpensive once you get there, and the food, drink, and views are phenomenal.

I am throwing this out there as more of a test of the waters to see if there are any Steemians out there that have an apartment, a home, bungalow, or other shelter that would maybe like to swap spaces. Something like, you stay at my place in Recife for a week, and we stay at your place for a week, wherever it may be. It helps saves on cost of a hotel or airbnb, and also lets us share our experiences. We could even start a sub category on Steemit if this takes off, so everyone who chooses to list their 'home' for 'swap' can easily be found.

If you have a place you would be more than happy to 'swap' with another Steemian, just reply below with where it is located and some details. My dads apartment is a 3 bedroom, 2 bath on the 15th floor a block from the ocean. The view is spectacular and the street food vendors are kitty corner so you can grab lots of variety of Brazilian foods. Chicken hearts over a hot coal fire are my favorite, not too far behind is 'queijo na brasa', which is basically cheese on a stick that is cooked over hot coals, soooooo good. Wash all that down with a Caipirinha and you're set! Hope to get a good variety of people and places where everyone can experience something they haven't before, cheers!

Sort:  

What a great idea! Brilliant. Had to say that - sorry I don't have a place for your list but I'll be reading it. Upvoted and resteemed :)

Thanks so much, I appreciate the feedback! No worries on not having a spot, I'm thinking this could also potentially turn into an airbnb/rent a couch sort of deal where steemians can post their homes, private rooms, couches, and what have you for rental, swap, or charity. I would be more than happy to let most of the Steemians I know into my home for a free night or two :)

Me too. And it's great to see a revival of trust. Most people, I believe, are really decent. But now, to rent a place, they often have to jump through hoops that are a pain. Something like this increases the trust factor and undermines the unethical middle man who can sometimes (not always) make a killing just on inconveniencing people.

Thanks so much! Hopefully there are other like minded Steemians out there who are willing to open their doors to fellow community members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17