One-month motorcycle travel through northern Vietnam - Part 1

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_9533.jpg

I feel so lucky to have traveled so extensively over the last few years and have had the privilege of visiting some absolutely brilliant countries. Before coming to Vietnam for the first time, I knew what to expect, but I didn’t anticipate it to be as incredible as it has been thus far. I’ve always had countries that I considered favourites, but it’s only now after experiencing this great place, that I can unequivocally say that it’s my number one, and by some margin too.

Vietnam has everything; great food, outstanding landscapes, a rich culture and simply the best people. The countryside that I witnessed on my last motorcycle trip (blog update coming soon) was some of the best that I have ever seen. I thought riding through the Himalayas was going to be the best experience, but the majestic nature of the mountains and the greenness of everything, juxtaposed with large meandering rivers, the quirky towns with local Vietnamese happily eating and playing games, has been an experience that has simply blown me away.

IMG_9391.jpg

I feel like I have developed such a deep connection with the place and cannot wait to explore this great country more when I take a month long motorcycle trip next week through the mountainous northern region. I’m chomping at the bit in anticipation at some of the roads, mountain passes and scenery on offer, which can be found along the Chinese / Vietnam border. I will be sharing regular updates and photos from this across Steemit!

I’m taking this trip alone, for a month, and hope to film parts of it like I did in India as well as adding to the photography collection along the way. One of the goals of this trip is to ‘eat like a local’ and get to know some of the regional dishes of Vietnam. Over the last three months, I have been so lucky to have eaten every meal outside of my home. The culture here is so different to what we know; local homes become restaurants at night, and people convene to eat the specialities of the region whether that be my personal favourite: Pho, a spicy beef noodle soup with mint, lemongrass and chilli, or Com Ga, a fried chicken rice dish cooked with onion and coriander. There are so many different varieties throughout Vietnam life, and I can’t wait to try them all.

IMG_9215.jpg

When I am riding alone, I experience what it’s like to be completely free. There is something quite special about being connected to both motorcycle and land at the same time; a form of meditation if you will. Watching the ever-changing landscape flash by whilst being encapsulated in a child like happiness. That feeling of dropping down a gear to propel you out of the turn and onto the next chapter of stunning scenery. I get such a buzz from travelling in this way.

I feel so lucky to live my life like this. I work from my laptop, and live where I want. I wake up every morning and I feel happy. I feel connected to the world and to ALL of it’s people. I don’t need to belong to one place and one place only. I look at my own country and I don’t feel the connection that I once did. Some may think that that’s quite sad, but I actually feel more connected than ever to the world as a whole, and everyone that lives upon it. We are all the same. Where we were born is a complete lottery. We should always remember this when thinking about the situation of others.

IMG_9104.jpg

I think its really important to remember that anything is possible. I know that my dream is not the dream of everyone, but your dream can be achieved too. Happiness is a choice, and its about overcoming our fears and doing the small things consistently, over and over again. This is how we change habits for the better. This philosophy worked so well for me, and it can work for everyone.

Stay tuned for my next entry which I will share after I arrive in Hanoi, which is where I begin the trip! I am looking forward to engaging with my fellow Steemians' along the way. I will also be sharing my progress on Instagram of which you can follow me here Lost Footprints

IMG_9352.jpg

IMG_9396.jpg

IMG_9467.jpg

Sort:  

If anyone would like any advice about travelling through Vietnam then please simply get in touch and I will be happy to help you with some recommendations. Thanks very much for following.

Is there anything more beautiful than this?)
I also recently was in Vietnam, in the village of Mui Ne (this is in the south)
there are very good waves 🏄

It's such an amazing and incredible country. I have been so fortunate to have travelled to many places, but Vietnam is right up there at the very top. I have never been to Mui Ne, but will certainly be sure to check this out when I head down this way! I have been living in Hoi An for the last few months and it's been a joy. I recommend that you visit if you haven't already been! :)

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)




Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64156.67
ETH 3169.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53