Trains and traveling

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0048_1.jpg

I love trains. Quiet, plenty of leg room, usually fast to travel, interesting scenery (not just clouds like when flying with plains, although clouds can be interesting too), fast departure (airports are the worst) and I don't have to drive so I can for instance post something to Steemit.

Driving is fun too. DON'T TEXT AND DRIVE!

IMG_0033_1.jpg

I wish Tampere, where I live, would have local trains like Helsinki has. Helsinki, the capital of Finland, has extended its local trains all the way to Tampere, but that means that only the people in the small towns between Tampere and Helsinki have the opportunity to use local trains.

Let's hope that Helsinki soon wants to extend its local trains nationwide. Or is it too much to ask? I don't think so.

20 to 30 minutes by bus is 5 to 15 minutes by train. Is it just me or does anyone else think that 15 minutes it less than 30 minutes? The smallest fee (shortest distance) by bus is 3€. That covers less kilometers than a trip from Tampere to Lempäälä (small town next to Tampere) which by local train costs 2,40€. Again is it just me or is 2,40 less than 3 euros?

IMG_0004_1.jpg

I love traveling. More than the actual being somewhere else than home, I love the part when I'm going from one place to another. Especially the going away part. Usually coming back home sucks. Don't get me wrong, I do love to come home, it's just that the journey back is always longer than the getaway part.

IMG_0045_1.jpg

My guess is that it has something to do with time travel and maybe some worm holes and black holes and all kind of holes.

Darn Albert Einstein and Stephen Hawking and all the scientists and song writers and poets and people who introduced us the thought that time is flexible and bendable and all that stuff. Darn Bender from Futurama too.

IMG_20180804_083115.jpg

All photos except this last one were taken with Canon EOS 550D in Tampere. This pic was taken somewhere on the road near Seinäjoki with Huawei P9.

Sort:  

Great photos!

Tampere Urban Area has railways going to four directions from it: Pori (west), Seinäjoki (northwest), Jyväskylä (northeast) and Helsinki (south). You can get to Nokia in the Pori direction by train as well as Lempäälä in the south. But I don't think any trains stop at Kangasala (northeast) or Ylöjärvi (northwest). The problem could be that there are no time slots for local trains on the tracks. And of course, the Kangasala station is several kilometres away from the Kangasala municipal centre. That leaves only Ylöjärvi with a potential customer base large enough to possibly justify allocating track capacity to local trains stopping there. Future growth of the urban area may change the equation. But with the city-wide light rail being built and slated to be operational in a few short years, I don't think local trains will be on the agenda for a very long time.

I don't think so eater. It's a shame 'cause when there are no trains transporting people to nearby small train stations like Ylöjärvi and Kangasala, it has an effect to the people where they choose to live and the necessity to use a car. And when people are using their own cars and not living near the old train stations, there's not so much demand on the local trains. So then the city can say that there's no need, people choose to use their own cars.

Although I love the tram that is been built, it does not take people to Ylöjärvi or Kangasala, it only replaces half of one bus line by the year 2020. And the whole of that one bus line by the year 2024. I would have loved to see more trails built so that local trains would be possible to all directions from Tampere. Side tracks for local trains to stop or something like that. But maybe someday. In the year 2200 perhaps. :D

But can't wait the tram to finish! I probably won't be using it that much 'cause I usually have no business to Hervanta or TAYS, but anyway, I think it's cool and I do support it as it can transport more people than buses. And I've heard that Hervanta - city centre - Lentävänniemi line is pretty cramped. And the branch terminal line (?) (pistoraide) could be in the plans so that the tram could some day continue from Lielahti to Ylöjärvi. Don't know when that some day will be though.

Trains are fun unless if your train carriage has broken air conditioning. It wasn't a fun experience going from Seinäjoki to Tikkurilla last Monday when it was 30 degrees Celcius outside.

I've heard a similar thing happen to a friends friend! Such a long distance too. About 3 ours is it? Shear agony I would imagine. :(

Great photos and the line 'Darn Bender from Futurama too' had me chuckling! Thank you.

:D Thank you.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-04T08:17:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 214.50/200.00
Total Photos: 33
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

While looking at the pictures, I am just wondering where were you when taking this picture? Sometimes it looks like you were on the roof.

My favorite of this serie is by far, the one with what seems to be a bridge. Great shot!

Thanks. :)

I'm on a large rock that is on the outer curve of the track. The train passes by only about 2-3 meters away because there's a vertical drop straight down to the tracks.

Every time I go there I hope that no-one has put any kind of fence there because obviously the train drivers can see me on the cliff as I can see them very clearly. And they might think that I'm reckless and there should be a fence. I'd like to get a photo of a long freight train at sunset, but haven't yet had the time or a good chance to do that. So no for fences until I get my shot.

It sounds dangerous but I hope you will be able to take that shot

It's not dangerous. If I die accidentally, it will probably be not by falling from a cliff on to a railroad track and been overrun by a train, it will probably happen at home by tripping onto these lovely little furry purring machines.

IMG_20180729_081719_b.jpg

"Who? Us cats? No. Never! Give us food you slave."

LOL! That is quite a collection. I see why it would be safer for you to wear a helmet indoors than outdoors.

I also love traveling by trains. But trains in my area are not that quiet. https://travelsites.com/train-bus-other/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71239.75
ETH 3686.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75