Finally got back after long adventurous bali pass

in #travel7 years ago

I always thought that if I died in the mountains, that would be a perfect way to go. But here's how Bali Pass trek taught me that would also be a cruel cruel death. So maybe not really a good idea. So the day we had to ascend the pass, we hit bad weather. We had complete whiteout due to thick fog, that means super low visibility, on top of that it started snowing and the wind was driving us crazy. Me, being a nincompoop that I am, forgot to take my waterproof pants and gloves on this trek, so by the time we were on top of the pass, my clothes, shoes and socks were completely drenched. So there I was, standing on the pass in -10 degrees, thinking I am not going to make it to our next campsite. And for the first time in my life, I cried fearing how this day is going to end. The descend from the pass was super steep, and with the fog I couldn't even see if I was stepping on lose rocks. I thought one wrong step and I'd fall into oblivion and freeze to death. And it was a scary. I have never been this cold in my entire life. My fingers had started getting blue, but I kept shivering and kept telling myself I am gonna be okay. Shivering is good, it means your body is fighting hard to keep you warm.
Anyways, thankfully we all made it back okay. No matter how exciting and wonder filled trek life is, there is also an element of risk involved. We walked for about 12 hours that day, 5AM to 5PM and made it back like rockstars.
But I am not scared of going back, so I am heading out for another trek in a few days. Make sure you carry your waterproof stuff people, your skin is not meant for the cold.
Ok so that was me mumbling.
Sharing more soon.

FB_IMG_1507028467711.jpg

FB_IMG_1507028470650.jpg

FB_IMG_1507028474531.jpg

Sort:  

Such a nice post, enjoyed it.
Thanks for sharing.

Bdiya hai bdiya

One must reckon with the fact that climbing mountains is dangerous. Especially what concerns the weather. According to this, it is necessary to be ready for it. It´s a good experience for another trip, thanks for post.

As you began your story talking about death, I thought you will never come back hiking. But you like risking I guess. Good job! Good luck with your next trips.

Wow loved your experience from the Bali Pass trek.
Get well soon :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65