Inday Clara Travels Solo #18: Mount Phousi - The Heart of Luang Prabang

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

beautiful.jpg

Join me, my friends, as I climb 355 steps going to the top of the famous Mount Phousi in Luang Prabang, Laos. The temples, statues, and the surrounding landscape as you thread along the path definitely makes this place a go-to in Laos.

I started my way from the Thanon Phousi side of the road where you will pass by a small temple and few houses where the monks live.

DSCF3618.JPG

DSCF3625.JPG

DSCF3628.JPG

The steps are inviting right? At this point, I told myself that this should already be a piece of cake but as always, my short legs can't keep up with the climb. So this time, I didn't bother hurrying up and you shouldn't too. Everything you see as you head up is beautiful.

DSCF3631.JPG

DSCF3633.JPG

DSCF3635.JPG

I love how the grotto is built on the rocks. Turns out there is a small cave under where another Buddha statue can be found. A tall person can fit but one just have to be careful not to hit their head.
DSCF3638.JPG

DSCF3642.JPG

DSCF3639.JPG

Continuing my hike, I encountered these images nestled among the rocks. Couldn't resist taking a photo. A good man took this photo. The struggles of a solo traveler.

DSCF3648.JPG

DSCF3652.JPG

So I passed by a small shed wherein I paid 20,000 kip for the entrance. A huge painting on the side shows a picture of the mountain. I passed by another set of golden Buddha images as I continued my way up. These Buddha statues are more bigger compared to the first set I've seen earlier.

  • A sitting Buddha surrounded by followers

DSCF3653.JPG

  • A Buddha under the multiheaded serpent Mucalinda

DSCF3656.JPG

  • A reclining Buddha

DSCF3659.JPG

  • and this Giant Buddha

DSCF3663.JPG

The path going up are shaded by a lot of trees so the heat of the sun won't be a bother much if you head out to this place during daytime. Just bring water though.

DSCF3664.JPG

Reaching the top, I was greeted with this spectacular view of the city, a beautiful scene facing the Mekong River and the That Chomsi, a golden 7 tiered pagoda that sits atop of the mountain. This was built by King Anourat in 1804.

DSCF3680.JPG

DSCF3674.JPG

DSCF3673.JPG

DSCF3676.JPG

Most people visit this place for the sunset but I had other plans and decided to watch the sunset along the Mekong River which I am going to share on my next blog. The climb to the top was totally worth it. What do you say? Is this place now a part of your bucketlist?

Thank you guys for reading! Stay tuned, Steem on and Always remember..
2.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=indayclara
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=inday-clara-travels-solo-18-mount-phousi-the-heart-of-luang-prabang


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

It's fun to enjoy. You are photographing with an incredible ability. Very beautiful! Thank you for sharing the beauty.

Have wonderful day!

Thank so much Roman! Just someone reading and appreciating my post is more than enough!

Keep the spirit & have fun Clara.👌

Nag sunset watching ko here. By the way naa Kos sleeper bus now pa Laos. I regards tika. :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67