Modern Sailing: Absurdity on the WatersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

As someone who lives inland, it never crossed my mind that people still sailed across the oceans. Sure, I realized lunatics raced around the globe but I had no idea average people buy boats and take off across the world.


I am fascinated by the idea but today I want to discuss the complete absurdity that is blue water cruising.

It turns out you can buy a sailboat for the price of decent used car. But what do you get for that money? You basically get a floating RV, a little tiny home on the water that can travel the world. 

The downside is your new home never stops moving. It's constantly rocking. All of your appliances and belongs. Back and forth. Back and forth. Every day for eternity.

For this reason, everything on a boat is constantly breaking. Now imagine you are anchored off some deserted island in the south pacific and something breaks. How do you fix it?

You have to be a jack of all trades just to keep the thing going. You need to know diesel mechanics, sewing sails, rigging, electrical, etc. You literally need to be able to fix anything in your entire house without the proper supplies or tools. It's crazy.

Yet they jury rig a solution until they get to a bigger port to have it fixed. And if you can't jury rig it, you just do without. Fridge breaks in the middle of nowhere? Too bad.

Then there is the speed. Yeah, it's like and RV on water but an RV that only goes about 6 mph. 

"6 mph? Like the speed of bicycle? And you want to go where?"

Also, imagine if it was normal for your whole house to be at 15 degree slant all day. Your bathroom, shower, toilet, kitchen, everything in the house is just leaned over to one side. 


The whole thing is absurd. I think that's why I'm fascinated by it.


Sort:  

I fell in love as soon as I saw your post. I'm learning laser sailing and this place is heaven-like to dive in. Soon I'll be sailing my boat here.
I'd love to sail fast in Light and Choppy conditions :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67364.55
ETH 3256.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64