SURFING TRIP TO THE CENTRAL COAST OF N.S.W - DAVISTOWN AND AVOCA BEACH

in #travel6 years ago

Just returned from a spectacular surfing get away with a good friend. We resided for a few days in the beautiful Davistown, a small suburb on the central coast of New South Wales. Avoca Beach is only a brief ten minute drive from Davistown; as a result I was able to surf four to six hours a day. There was a decent 3-4 foot swell, with perfect cross off shore winds every day (south westerly). There were some hollow barreling waves which I was excited to capture. Surprisingly the surf was actually heavy at times.

Unfortunately, I only used the Go pro Hero 6 on the final day and froze at a crucial moments. I exited the surf and took the battery out to unfreeze the go pro, that was an absolute pain as my hands needed to be dry. I was further disappointed to find that I did not capture my best moments, which included an amazing barrel ride. I will need to be more patient till I capture my first go pro barrel. I checked the footage a number of times and gathered I did not push the record button accordingly or it must of been when the camera froze. I will be updating the software or return the Gopro under warranty, as a result of it being a reoccurring problem of late.

I had an amazing time surfing Avoca beach. The locals were friendly and the weather did not disappoint. I hope you all enjoy the surfing video.

20180114_100313.jpg

DAVISTOWN

What a relaxing place to stay, where you can either sit and relax or go fishing, bush-walking or boating. Located on a island-like peninsula surrounded by water, the lovely cottage we stayed at also included a row boat. There is a dog friendly track alongside the river, where you can stroll around with your pets and loved ones. One of the naughty dogs actually tried to eat some bait when loading the row boat.

20180112_194917.jpg

We rowed the boat out to the cockle channel, where we would catch blue swimmer crabs. The trick is to lure the blue swimmer crabs with red meat, such as beef or heart. After about 5 minutes when the line feels a little heavy, slowly pull the bate to the surface and quickly net the blue swimmer crabs before they let go. You know there is one on the line because they are a little heavier and have little niggles on the line. Need to be patient and are well worth the wait as they are delicious.

20180113_195256.jpg

SUMMERTIME TIP

Sea lice seem to be most active in summertime as a result of warmer waters. Sea lice is the usual name, referring to microscopic larvae of jellyfish, which are generally invisible to the naked eye. They can have the same sting as the larger jellyfish and can be a real discomfort to surfers and swimmers in summer. They love to get caught in our swimwear and create havoc on our skin, resulting in painful rashes and terrible itching. I have my whole body covered in what looks to be mosquito bites, but are much worse. They have gotten caught underneath my rash shirt and shorts. I recommend wearing a skin tight wet-suit to prevent these terrible stings. I have been stung a lot lately and may have developed an allergic reaction, a rash that looks like hives has appeared on my chest. Prevention is better than cure, so please wear a spring wet-suit if you think there may be a lot of seaweed and sea lice. I noticed a lot of sea weed, possibly where they like to hang out. Make sure you wash your swimmers after your swim with hot water or detergent. If stung, put some cream on, I am using what is called 'SOOV' from the chemist. It gives relief for pain and itch which also is a antiseptic gel.

Thanks for reading and hope you stay tuned for more surfing adventures.

Sort:  

YEWW! Pumping Avoca! I live there through most of last year and absolutely loved it - always a spot you can go and find that working is theres a sniff of swell around!

Did you manage to surf any other spots up the coast? Where are youre plans to head on your travels next??

Went to Avoca everyday, next time I will try other beaches. The surf was clean all three days. The low tide on the first day created some average surf later in my 4 hour session, mostly it was great. I will be heading down South Coast or local beaches in Sydney, whatever will be cleaner surf ;) I tend to find South coast is pretty reliable and less crowded.

@imperialaussie Don't worry about the camera.you'll get your footage. I would like to see more what is in your heart rather than what is on your camera. Remember It's a journey!

Making me homesick. I lived on the Central Coast for about 8 years.

It would be great to live up there :) I use to go up there as a kid because my friends dad owned a caravan at Avoca. The Caravan park is gone now, it was bought by a developer :(

This pics make me feel alive! May be i will sound romantic but, when I see pictures where sun shine like this i just think in the power of god, of existence...@imperialaussie

Totally agree, there is something powerful when you experience such beauty, light and water reflecting our existence :)

That´s what i talk! Congratulation, you're very talented @imperialaussie

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=imperialaussie
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=surfing-trip-to-the-central-coast-of-n-s-w-davistown-and-avoca-beach


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Awesome man!! The Central Coast is certainly a lovely place! I went to visit a mate up there recently:

0046.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05