San Vicente chapel ruins dated from 1748, Ilocos Sur, PhilippinessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel8 years ago

The convent's outback in San Vicente

Tagging along with my niece yesterday brought me to the back of the convent, as I've got nothing to do while she did her errand.

I knew that the Parish of San Vicente is made of bricks but the extension on the side where the convent is, where the parish priest resides is new. Access is possible in the convent as the church activities and offices are in the ground floor.

Access to the ruins, noticeable once near the ground floor back gate.

The earliest record in the Vigan Convent archives was of a funeral that occurred on January 29, 1748 at the said chapel where the first chapel was erected between 1720 and 1737.


I grew up in this town yet I have never seen these as the gate was always closed or even as a child when my aunt brought me along for their weekly church meeting. 


Come to think of it, the town's schools and old houses are made of bricks too, even some surrounding walls around town. I don't think there's ever been a plan to do some conservations of these heritage.


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Vicente_Ilocos_Sur


All images are mine and are original, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.

Badge courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

ERRATUM: My brother as the town captain, informed me that this was not the 1st chapel. One of the buildings in grade school was the 1st, which was built in 1706..shown in this painting:

and the real building which ive taken a picture this morning:

Resteemed as part of my initiative to make "filipino" and "philippines" known or perhaps get a better number of audience :)

kuya..resteem mo na lang ha,ako napapagod sa yo ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.47 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 01 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Am cool, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62852.17
ETH 2463.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64