Philippine mangoes anyone? how about jackfruits?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

These mangoes were found on the ground this morning, and while those up in the trees aren't ready for harvest, we will settle for these for now. The fruits are starting to get yellowish though, so they better get ready by next week as I will be leaving soon.

Looking at the fruits with longing, I can see a few that might be ready in a couple of days. My back won't allow me to be carrying green mangoes to London, if I can enjoy them before my departure, it's a much better option.

The green part is slightly sour still, though the yellow part is fully ripe now. It can be eaten, yes that was me. That's how to peel a mango as well if you've got no knife to cut it with.

Jackfruits!

The most matured among those 6 pieces hanging from the tree right now, it will take a couple of months more before they ripen. 

My mom planted this tree ages ago, and as far as I can remember, it have been fruit-bearing year after year. My mom looked after this tree like a baby since her retirement in the 90s. And before till her TIA, each time I come home from abroad, she will take my hand then show me how many of the fruits will reach maturity and will wish for me to be present and enjoy it. 

I swear, through the years, our neighbours have enjoyed them more than me ;) My mom's generous that way.


All images are mine and are original, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.

Sort:  

Jackfruit!!!! - And I love Mangoes too!

ok @papa-pepper, am glad you found it delicious ;) the prickly skin can ripen further as it can get a bit yellowish, but not so much as it can over-ripe too, ruining the fruit.
the left-over smaller flesh can be made into jams. and the seeds are edible yes, boiled or roasted.
jack fruits have a sticky sap, so we use oil in our hands when eating and when using the knife. saves a lot of trouble when cleaning-up.
the seeds when dried can sprout into saplings when in a moist soil.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.71 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

thanks again :)

Mango and jackfruit, those are some tasty fruits!

I'm sure they do, enjoy @immarojas! :)

thanks, there's loads in thailand :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67