Monet's garden, let me take you to Giverny I

in #travel7 years ago (edited)


To be honest, aside from staying in Le Marais last October, the highlight of our Paris trip was in going to Monet's. Where a day in particular was already set even before leaving London. It was the icing in the cake and with so much anticipation, we were looking forward into going.

Vernon - the gateway to Giverny

From Paris, take the train to VERNON, where 4 miles away is Giverny. Shuttles can bring tourists to and from Monet's place every so often. Take the mini-train as the views are much better from it. There is wifi also if needing an internet access. 

Passing through Vernon, timber houses can be seen along its' quite impressive "middle ages" streets. Prominently, a single tower arises on its' own at the town's center and being used as the the town's archive. It's quite a shame that we didn't make time to have a walk around Vernon as it have it's charm on it's own. We planned to initially, but it went out of the window when we got to Monet's house.

From the carpark, there is a short path alongside the road where a figurine of Monet's can be seen. Then from here, cross the road straight to the house.


It would be interesting to pick his brain at this moment...


Pique-nique interdit

There is a cafe just outside the house so don't worry when you need a cake and a cuppa! No one gets hungry at Monet's house, regardless of a picnic not being allowed.

Je sais madame, je sais!

Before the attendant could utter a word when checking my bag and see my crisps and chocolate bar. I don't travel without them as I get scared of not having something to munch in my bag. There's no point in having cash when there's nowhere to buy stuff from.

The rose garden

Now, you need to check the map when getting out of the house to the garden, believe me it's massive. It may look simple from the map, but once in the garden, it's very easily to lose one's bearing. I must say that I really didn't mind getting lost within the rows and rows of roses and different flowery plants, some were tropical. Don't forget a good camera when going, the flowers were simply amazing!


See any roses?

There were, but mostly at the front of his house to the sides. Its' stems are already very tall and almost to his windows, clinging on metal arches. Every inch of the garden is well-tended by a number of gardeners, and at that time, a portion of it were being planted with. 

These are tropical and can be found all over the Philippines. We went in October so I guess winter in Giverny is very mild?

Garden wedding anyone?


Well, I want one! It's my initial thought when I saw this! Won't you?

This path leads directly towards the main door but it's not allowed to pass through it. Chains are placed with warning signs. Surely, no one wants to tread on those flowers! Quite tempting though to run across it. Or do what a doggy do and ruin those flowers.

Wanna see the view from his bedroom? Wait for the Part II please, coming next.


http://giverny.org/vernon/avoirgb.htm

All images are  mine and original, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.



Sort:  

These are really nice photos, you took there. I see, you're a real tourist :)

Thank you..i do love to travel☺

We are waiting for Part II ;)

Haha pls wait, got an ordinary job!
What alts to get with my sbd??

get an anonimous debit card (price is around $20 usd- more or less), transform your steem power into steem, exchange steem for bitcoin (you can do that on blocktrade) , send bitcoin onto your anonymous debit card ;) ....and than buy stuff or withdraw your money on ATMs

Which one doesnt ask for an id and proof of address i would like to know. I have cryptopay.

Well, I have already used xml card. No name or surname on your card. https://www.xmlgold.eu/en/prepaid-card/

Nice..will check that out thanks!!!!

I love it! I visited Paris last May but didn't get to see this beauty! We did go to Versailles though which also had amazing gardens. This is a must next time I visit France!

The palace was closed when we went to Versailles ages ago, we just walked about. Did you get to see Antonette's garden?
Monet's is a must after this. I wish i could have gone sooner!

We saw it all! We rented a golf cart and drove to the petite and grand trianon and spent a lot of time at gardens. It was exquisite!!

You see..i missed that one coz my friend didn't want to☺

Wow, the carving of that face is really amazing, and you really captured it so well

Thank you..was trying to get a good one of his eyes☺😊

Hahaha 😁😁😁😁 well you should consider photography as well.

I am definitely! Enjoying your sbd/steem mate?

Well it's hard to earn lol, however the little I got makes me happy and you?

That is enough...very helpful aren't they? Happy new year my friend.

Yeah, thank you so much, and same to you as well, have a good steemit year

And to what 2018 can offer cheers!

Wow what an amazingly inspiring adventure. I can't wait for part two! Those nasturtiums along the path edges look just insane!! The scent must have been fabulous!! I love their peppery smell ☺️ Love Monets work and adore his garden! ☀️⭐️

Oh it smelled heavenly and the sights were awesome! We were there a day and didn't wanna leave!

How wonderful ❤️💛💚💛❤️💚

Did u see where his boat was docked?

I did not see that no - where is his boathouse.? I am looking forward to part 2 ☺️

The way you describe the place is really lovely, supported with just as lovely pictures, Ate. :) Can't help to ask, but is that a bug in Monet's eyebrow? :D

Binalikan ko pa ahahaha, yes it is!

It reminded me of a book I had when I was little wherein every page, there's a little bug you need to find. :)

Cool..how's that online stuff u were doing by the way?
You and Gail must go and see Monet's!!!

Funny because now that I have the money, it didn't go through. Well, it went through but I don't remember seeing a "successful" transaction, it was always failed due to insufficient fund. I emailed them, and they said it went through the first time, and when I enrolled again, it got cancelled. I had quite a few attempts. They refunded me last 24th, but I dont know, up until now it is still insufficient fund. I have to check my account's transaction first if they have refunded me already. Huhuhu :(

Well hope it will be sorted out as it sounds a cool thing to do..power ate!

Hopefully soon! I have a friend who's a direct contact of Sadie, so it'll be okay na next week. Thank you po!

Nice sige😍😍

Interesting post, beautiful photos, i like traveling too, you can also check my last post, maybe you like it, have a good night !)

Thank you i will. Good night!

such a beautiful place, thanks for brightening up this cold winter day with some lush garden scenes!

Thank you!!! I need to do the part 2🤣🤣

I can say for sure that Monet had a hell of a garden !!!!! :D

Definitely sure.

i need a cake and a cuppa!

Oh there madame cakes...lalake pa helpings as in. I'll take u both if u ever go to Paris!

libre tickets? thank you po :)

Sa train sure..return na un.🤣🤣🤣

I always wanted to see bunch of flowers like this but sadly never saw one. Hope you can share some other beautiful spots like this so that people like me can appreciate the beauty of nature everywhere.. 😊

I will try thank you. Save some steemit money and travel. That's what am gonna do☺

Hehe soon po cguro.. D p po pwde now e.. Asa ibng bnsa ako,ofw. Mhirp magtravel.pero dream ko po un. Mktravel everywhere

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64159.10
ETH 2771.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66