A walk along China Town, London

in #travel6 years ago

Why do people flock to China Town? Let me count the ways.

Restaurants

I basically had a meet- up with one of my bestfriends for a Malaysian dinner. Formerly working in Singapore, she have had one of her cravings to satisfy.

SOHO, China Town, Leicester Square or Covent Garden literally are full of restaurants from of all over the world that anyone is spoilt for choice. Some need reservations but most of them don't, unless it's one of those exclusive ones. Time out have a great list of international cuisines to check out for those looking for a 4 to 5 stars recommendations. 


Asian bakeries and supermarkets

Just like anywhere in the world with China Town, for every Asian,it basically provides comfort food, consisting of anything like fruits, vegetables, chichiria, candies, canned goods, drinks and the lot. It have everything that reminds us of home, from China, Malaysia, Singapore, Japan, Korean, the Philippines etc. Name it and it will have it. 

For Filipinos, it have SIOPAO in a bun. It's the only place in London that sells this and nowhere else. 


Thai massage and salons

When i was new in London, i was coming here for my massage. Now I've found a chinese therapist near where i live that do acupuncture and massages. Easier to go home as it's literally a stone throw away with a bus access infront of it.

Alright, I admit my hair stylist is a Malaysian...for more than 10 years! I brought the same friend to her as she liked my hair cut and was disappointed. Hey, you stick to whoever can do your hair the way you want it, right?

Theatres, bars

This guy was singing Wonderwall.

In Leicester Square alone, all the buildings around it are theatres, the streets crossing out are also aligned with theatres. One need only to choose which show. Personally, i think it was Lion King that i went to first together with my work colleagues for a night out.

In 1999, I wanted to see Miss Saigon, but being new in the country, its' closing a month after my arrival went unnoticed. Although it was shown again some years later, the lead was no longer Lea Salonga whom i was gagging to see. But then i've already watch it in youtube😍😍😍

London souvenirs

Tourists love coming here for its' reputation and i must say that it's a place to not miss when walking around London. There's not a street without people mingling or walking about for whatever purpose they may have. Tourist shops abound in one side of Leicester Square. Odeon theatre is also a place to have a glimpse of cinema stars when walking in the red carpet to their premiere opening. If one fancy doing that stuff.

A night of Wonderwalls.

Shopping anyone?

It's not here. 

Walking further away to Covent Garden or Regent's street is where one go for shopping therapy. And from Regent's St., a bit further is Oxford St. to Bond St. Don't forget your credit card.


For such a compact place, there's loads to do to anyone's fancy, depending on ones' mood. If going to the theatre for a night out, then it is the place to be. There are bars 

Most times, I personally go to China town for Filipino groceries and my siopao. It is nearer and the Chinese stores stock them, way cheaper too compared to the Filipino stores in Earl's Court.


A walk and a drink around Leicester Square instead, anyone? 

☺☺☺


All images are mine, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7. Edits via PicsArt.

Sort:  

Nice photos tita! Pang magazine. 😉

Thanks ate..

Almost makes me want to go to London. NOT.
Jk. Lovely post Imma <3

Fancy more of what am seeing in Bourbon Island😊😊

Thanks for sharing. I miss London very much.
(Daily.)

Awww..let me know if you wanna see something else in here. I will check it out and post for you ;)
Where are you at now?

Sorry, just found this now! I don't get Steemit notification (is it just me?) and always forget to check out comment (reply) section! 😕 For the moment I live in Croatia; had to move back due to many reasons (mostly health conditions of my parents). Not that I enjoy it very much, btw. But I try to make the best of it which is not easy when you are sourounded by people who live in the past and are brainwashed with politics who teach them to hate people they never eaven met!! Very desturbing.

No..its not just you. Do u meditate? i plan to just to get away from all shitty stuff around me.
How's u holding on? Hope your parents are much better!

I do meditate. That's what keeps me sane & still alive in all this toxicity all over everywhere. My parents are doing fine now, thank you, but they are 85 & 80 now so they are actually doing great!

That's good..enjoy them☺☺

More people with be flocking for the Chinese new year. Saya manuod ng dragon dance. :)

Kelan ba NY nila pala..i forgot😋🤣

February 16 daw po sa Pinas.

Ay hinde sabay-sabay? Wala ka sa ama ate.

collage-2018-02-01.jpg

Haha thanks!

Cguro po Feb 16 sa lahat may mga mauuna at mahuhuli nga lng ng pg celebrate dahil iba iba time zones. Now lng nka online ulit. :)

Sayang ate..nawala ka ba? Tagal yata kitang di nakita ;)

Great article @immarojas. I love how good the photos look in black and white. I would never have thought of doing that as China Town is such a colourful place. 😊

Yes...i thought i'll try it in BnW. It was evening shots anyway, so i got away with it. See you tomorrow?
Watsapp me the time you get here?

I left a message in the whatsap group earlier. 😊 Waiting to hear back from Sarah.

Alright will check. I get stressed when i see more than 10 messages lola

Nice! I haven't been to China town in so long! Their Chinese New Year celebrations is coming up, so we might make the trip :)

It's in Feb right? Sorry i forgot xoxo

It starts on 16th Feb this year! And the Chinese new year celebration display is on 18th Feb in China Town (i think!) :)

You all going?? Ta!

Still deciding! It'll be so busy in china town.. I'm checking to see if anywhere else is doing a big display :D

It will yeah..i wanna cover it thu. Will check if i can go😚

Lol so amazing, if I'm touring these cities as you then I might just eat and eat wherever I go 😀😀😀😀

Of course..that's the 1st thing to check lolss

Lol do so how's it been with with work stress?

We need strength everyday! That's physical stress mate...our age cant carry on like this😂😁

Almost in every country, there is a "China town" it is amazing how the world celebrates their culture with a twist of the cultures of the countries they are in. Great post!

Yeah..what i love is to find local stuff from my country and other Asian ones...which more often use the same ingredients but different cuisine☺

Hi Tita! Chinatown in Binondo MNL looks nice too :)

I think I have been during college..and haven't been back. Don yata un eng bee tin noh?

Yes po tita! We dropped by there with Bow and bought some Hopia. Ang sarap!

ay panalo talaga tita! Pero mas gusto ko po yung Combi Tita, Ube Queso.

Madali ako maumay..un ube bland..tas un texture.

Love the black and white photographs, @immarojas. Happy travels!

Thank you!! And for stopping by. For a change☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51