Food Adventures 8 - Comfort Food in Berlin

in #travel6 years ago

Berlin and Germany in general, are famous for their sausages with currywurst being the most famous of them all. In Berlin, you can find currywurst everywhere. I could say it is easier to find this type of sausage than water.

cover.jpg

In this post I will refrain from being Mr Obvious and I will present you other excellent comfort food choices that will make go buy another pair of pants if you have too much of them.

IMG_20180530_132120.jpg

And I have a place that I go at least once, every time I visit Berlin, to enjoy these kinds of indulgences. This place is Heisser Wolf in the basement of Arkaden Shopping Mall in Potsdamer Platz, besides Sony Center.

IMG_20180530_131941.jpg

As you can see this hot wolf knows a thing or two about meats. There you can have the traditional sausages and other types of meats. You can choose to eat them in a sandwich or with fries or in a dish with some mashed potatoes and vegetables.

IMG_20180530_134653.jpg

IMG_20180530_132052.jpg

First, I chose Krustenbraten im Brotchen ( with bread ). Krustenbraten is a roast made out of pork. The variation I had was processed meat, like sausage but in loaf form factor. It was very tender and juicy and the bread was there to enhance the taste.

IMG_20180530_132447.jpg

IMG_20180530_132537.jpg

Then, I had Leberkasse with bread. This a beef roast like a meatloaf. This time you have a more meaty sandwich and yet equally tender and juicy. It could have been a little bit less salty, but this is a matter of personal preference.

IMG_20180530_132714.jpg

IMG_20180530_132846.jpg

I ate them in the simplest way possible as a sandwich. I believe that anything more would ruin the experience. And let’s be honest. You go there for the meat. A meat full of calories, fat and flavor.

You need no fries, no vegetables, no salads. You take good bites of bread and meat and slowly chew in order to have the fullest experience of these incredibly delicious and arteries clotting foods.

A beer would be fine, but I didn’t feel like drinking that day.

IMG_20180530_134416.jpg

As you can see the battle was won and I paid 6.5 euros for both sandwiches.

And if you are wondering, on another occasion, I had my currywurst or else I am sure the food police wouldn’t let me leave Berlin. Currywurst is a roasted pork sausage served with a special tomato sauce and generously sprinkled with a curry like spice. You can have it with fries or bread.

IMG_20180527_132637.jpg

Looking back, I see that keeping a healthy food diet is not the easiest thing in Berlin. Maybe for this reason, there are those huge parks. To have enough space for cardio to burn those calories.

IMG_20180530_134643.jpg
Leberkasse on the left and Krustenbratten on the right.

That was from me. As I am writing the post and chose the photos I will use, I kinda miss these sandwiches, but on the other hand, I live in Greece. I can have all the tasty fatty food that I want at the tip of my fingers. No complaints there.

And until the next food adventure…
Be Healthy, Smile and Steem.

footer.png

PS: For certain individuals concerned, a full beer and sausage post will follow.

Sort:  

Σάτυρε! Ξεκίνησα δίαιτα! 😖😖😖

Ουυυυυυππππςςς . Σορυ :(

:)

I managed to go full on asian food for two weeks in Berlin (healthier than this I guess??), but common...nobody ever went bad on some roasted pig right ;)

Of course not... :)

Oh, yes, you showed wonderful food options! They all fit my family! Only we have such things prefer to bake , everything is used: sausages, meat, chicken, fish, in general, what you can bake!

I am sure you have great recipes and meats. :)

Nothing special. Just variations with meat, spices and location!

You are so humble. One day I will visit your country and taste all the wonderful foods that you have.

I think you'll like it here!

Yeah, I want now a “Fleischkassemmel“😉😋😊

It's the Leberkas with bread, but in Austria we say Fleischkassemmel to it🤗

I would like one too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63235.53
ETH 2558.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63