Here's what you have to do in your hometown!

in #travel7 years ago

Explore like a tourist

I have a friend coming to town in about an hour. Which is exciting because it's been nine months since I've met her and she's never been in my beautiful city.

The city I grew up in, lived in for 21 years, still live in and probably will come back to once I'm not living here anymore.

This special occasion gives me an opportunity to see this city from a different perspective:

The eyes of a tourist.

Of course, when someone comes to visit my city I wanna be able to give them the realest version of this town.

The wonderful sites, the authentic stuff, the hidden stuff people don't see.

In short, everything I would take for granted and see as normal simply because I've lived here for so long.

However, as I browse through the interwebs I find stuff I wasn't even aware before. Perfect!

I get to play tourist in my own city! :D

Thinking about perfect ways to connect the city, trying all its culinary offerings.

There's so much stuff you see every day but don't know what it is, so you when you finally do some research you find out how great your city really is.

For example buildings, you only ever glanced at wondering what they are, not giving any second thought to them, you now come to understand what they represent.

Explore your own city more!

I think I got trapped in my daily life not caring about what this city has to offer anymore simply because mentally I checked it off. Was done with it.

Argh I did everything there is to do here, let's move somewhere else.

That couldn't be further from the truth.

There's still loads of stuff I'll have to do before I can move.

Got another couple of months to explore everything, create an insane bucket list and get it.

When I started university about three years ago, the dean gave a speech in which he encouraged us to not get stuck in the study life of a student but also enjoy the rich culture this city has to offer.

The time to do so has finally come!

Get ready for some awesome pictures of my beloved hometown :D

Sort:  

Looking forward to those pictures!

Yeah, living there most of the time you actually miss a lot of cool things just because of not paying attention.

So true! I've finally been paying attention to all the details, like I do when I'm traveling, and it's wonderful :D

wow thats beautiful...

Thank you so much. it has been beautifully written

Outstanding post and narrative. Thank you for sharing!
Resteemed

Time to explore the city yay :D

Excellent

it will be exciting for sure anyways wising you a Merry Christmas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65