Epic Motorcycle Ride , Europe 2017 , Nordkapp-Black Sea-Adriatic Coast-Portugal , Part One "Introduction"

in #travel8 years ago

For over 20 years i ride motorcycles . My first ever ride was when i have had 12 years. From that day i have been hooked on.

I am a hard core biker , traveled more than 200.000 on a bike . In early years when i got my driver licence i have gathered much needed experience on various models from 125 cc as a starter to 600 cc super sports. I have driven MX , Nakeds basicaly all on two wheels. 

Later on as i grown in confidence and experience i switched to larger 750 an liter models. My love at that time was Suzuki GSX-R . Today i can say that i'm a responsible and  cautious rider but back in a days i was not. All i care about was speed and more speed .

So me and my friends loved to take a weekend rides somewhere , usually 1000-2000 km trips to Italy,Austria,South Germany... . But for me that was not enough. And in my head idea has started to eat me , a trip that will take me far away , a trip that needs to last 2-3 months , a trip where i will cross 20.000 kilometers . A trip to countyes where i never been before. So i have started to make plans . 


In mean time i got married , i got a really good job , i was having so may obligations but from time to time i was throwin my eyes on a maps . With family life, work , and many other things there is no possible way to make such trip. But the dream was bigger and bigger in my head . It was like someone is calling me , come here , ride , you can do it. 

I was back at maps , planing routes to where , what city to see , where to sleep , where to eat , gas stations locations , workshops in case of repairs and tons of other things that are in need to take care of before one even start journey.

Initialy , i have made plan for me and my 3 friends. In that time we all have slightly passed 30 years of age , all married and responsible , all working for good money.  So in 2006 we all exchanged our old bikes for new ones , i have sticked to Suzuki GSX-R btw. That year we went to Imola in Italy to Formula 1 race , toured around Lake Como just to get feel for new bikes . And winter has arrived , bikes are in my garage and we could not wait enough for spring to arrive . 

We were planed to head to far west of Europe , to Portugal . It was a round trip of around 10.000 km . 

So spring of 2007 started. 

DISASTER

We waited for first sunny day in March of 2007 to drive bikes out . It was saturday , we headed out of town to warm the bikes and tires but i was little cocky and pushed a bit harder . In one curve i was in 3rd gear , maybe 120 km/h , back tire lost grip and .....dang.  I was sliding over asphalt with my bike on my right leg , all of 40+ meters of a slide bike was crushin my leg . My friends arrived , picked my bike from me , picked me up and then i felted pain . Oh my god . Pain was unbearable. Some guy stoped wit the car and offered to drive me to emergency not far. 

Long story short , i was in hospital for 10 days , fixators stickin out of my leg , then at home for next 4 months. After removing fixators doctor pushed me to a therapy to get me on my feet again. All in all from the hospital to end of therapy 9 months passed . I was able to walk again without help. All that time i was really sad not for leg but for missing a great trip. I can't thank enough to my wife , friends and family. They where so supportive during that period of time .

As i was in bed my wife sold my bike , my riding gear, boots,gloves ...everything. On top of that she asked of me to make her a promise that i will never sit on a bike again. So i promised . Mostly because i know that she was worried about me , she was scared that i will not be able to move my feet again. But all went good and i stayed alive. 

Until this summer . 9 long years i was separated from my love . Riding. 

My friend comes in front of my house with a brand new Honda CRF 1000L , the Africa Twin . I could not resist the temptation when he handed me the keys and words "bring her back in one piece" !

In just 100 meters all my dreams returned , all my feelings , that sensation of freedom , everything. I was owerhelmed . One hour later i was at dealership trying to arange some test drives of few models that i wanted to ride for so long.

In next posts i will try to discuss with you guys few models and from that i will pick one to buy. I have narrowed down 4 models so it's goin to be hard to pick.

Also i need to purchase all new gear from helmet to boots , for that i already know what is goin to be.

I will lay down my planed route with countryes that i wish to visit . So i will need some advices regarding places that needs to be visited . Feel free to leave comments in incomming posts.

Upvote,comment and follow me on my planing and my Epic Ride for 2017.

Thx for reading , hope that you guys are not bored to death :))

Sort:  

Interested to see what you are considering. I remember when my ex-wife said, "its either me or the motorcycle!" I asked her, "do you need help packing?" Welcome back to riding and keep the shiny side up and the dirty side down.

My wife have seen what years of not riding has done to me heheh , she agreed that i must do this. And when my friend offered a ride he told me "suck up dude and ride " so i did it and im thankfull for that.

She is a good woman! Glad she approved. :)

Great post! Glad you're ok, i have never rode a bike, i alway want at least 4 wheels lol

More to come stay tuned. I'm a 20% cager and 80 % biker. You should try. Thx for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23